Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
My mom used to make these for us growing up and they have always been my favorite! I wouldn't change a thing on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were excellent. I wasn't sure at first if I was going to like them, but they came out great - especially after chilling for a day in the fridge. I used extra lemon juice (not sure how much, just used a large lemon and squoze the heck out of it). Great flavor. Hubby suggests using part oil and part butter for the cake mix to give the crust a more buttery flavor. Will try that and let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Jefferson Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Holy Cow, these were good! They were gone an hour after I made them. Terrific Recipe!!!!! I always read the reviews before trying any of the recipes on this site; a lot of people doubled the cream cheese layer. I only had one package of cream cheese so I used 1/4 cup of lemon juice and that made Plenty to cover the bottom layer. I don't think you need to double the cream cheese unless you want some RICH bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinatShores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made these lemon bars just as directed and they tasted great and are super easy to bake. I think that this recipe is much better than the lemon bars that come in the box down the grocery isle too. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Wow I had alot of cream chesse dint know what to do found this,i did every thing in this recipe but i rolld out the cake mix for the crust part baked it pourd the filling i like alot of leamon so i added alot and added lemon zest.its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leladr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These bars were easy to make and a hit with my husband and at work,the only thing I suggest is to double the cream cheese filing and I used 1 lemon and used the juice from it and about 1 T. lemon juice from the bottle and the zest from the lemon,thanks for a easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were pretty amazing!I took the advice of some other's and doubled the filling and added a little more lemon juice to the filling.Everyone loved them,including my daughter who does not care too much for lemon.I can't wait to make these for my mom when she comes for a visit.Easy to make and taste amazing,thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very Good! My family ate them up fast! I doubled the filling and it was perfect. Will add these to my recipe box to make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Going by the other reviews, I also doubled the "filling" for this cookie bar. I don't believe the amount written would have been enough. I also, like many other reviewers like a stronger lemon flavor, so I used the zest and juice from 1 1/2 lemons. I also added 1 box instant sugar-free lemon pudding to the cream filling and couple drops of yellow food color. The bars are very good. My family liked them. They are kind of like a little cheese-cake cookie. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This recipe was super easy, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States