Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe, easy and I too got loads of compliments. Changes I made... I doubled the filling as suggested Used golden cake mix and small package of lemon putting mix. Juiced lemons, half a lemon in the crust and 1 1/2 in the filling. Zested the lemon rind and put zest from half a lemon in the crust and zest from 1 1/2 lemons in the filling. I added lemon extract to the filling and some yellow food coloring for presentation. I found when baking, after 20 minutes the top crust was not toasting, so I put the oven on broil for just a minute and it came out perfect. Sprinkled with icing sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A big hit and truly easy! I made 1.5 times the filling and used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. These were even better the next day, they need time to sit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Make these for a bake sale to try them out. I love lemon so I too added 5 tbsp of lemon juice instead of the 1 tbsp. Very quick bars to throw together at the last minute! Great bars and had people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe has a good flavor and consistency. I added half of a lemon zest. It's a good lemon bar, but the best I one that I have ever had comes from the recipe book called 101 things to do with a cake mix:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like other reviewers, I found that there was not enough filling. The cake mixture that you're supposed to save to crumble on the top expanded in the oven - when i took the bars out of the oven, they resembled Barney Rubble bars! Taste was fair....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My husband seemed to really like these but I just don't really care for fruity type desserts. He said he would like me to make again so that makes it a winner for me. They were easy to make which was a huge plus! Also I didn't find mix with pudding so I used plain lemon cake mix and I used lemon extract in place of lemon juice since I did not have it. It seemed to work out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I wouldn't have believed it. I was desperate for a non-dairy lemon bar recipe and all I had handy was HALF a box of lemon cake mix, some lemons and some Tofutti cream cheese (half a tub). I prepared the recipe exactly as directed, using HALF an egg (broken in a cup and stirred well) in the cake mix and HALF in the "cream cheese" mixture. Well, I wasn't expecting much, but it was actually very tasty, with almost no taste of cake mix at all! Made in a smaller pan, obviously, and I would recommend making a full-sized batch ... if only because everybody's going to want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Tasted too much like cake. Its also very heavy and thick. I'll eat what I made, but won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
YUM! I'm not a huge craver of lemon stuff but these are just delicious! I made two small changes per previous reviews. 1) I doubled the filling. Hey, I AM a craver of cream cheese and figured it wouldn't hurt. :) and 2) I added a Tbls of lemon juice with some zest into the cake mix. I might add some more next time just to make it a little more tart but they're yummy as is. Thank you so much for the recipe!! They sure were easy - except for the 2nd trip to the store because I was out of sugar. Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States