Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Pretty good--definitely needs a lot more lemon juice--I added lemon juice until the filling tasted about right to me. That was my only deviation from recipe, except I had to bake it about an extra 15 minutes (30 approximately) to get some toasty golden brown onto the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These are excellent lemon bars! But after making them per the recipe, I did tweak future batches. First, I now leave out the cream cheese filling and substitute lemon curd. Adds a great burst of lemon to this bar and makes this easy dessert even easier since I use jarred lemon curd! Second, please don't let this try and brown on top, even slightly. You will have dry bars. Just bake until the top is set, and you are good to go! Moist, delicious and super lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Loved it! And I made it EXACTLY like it said. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made these lemon bars - haven't tasted them yet. But one problem I had was that the lemon cake mix was only 15.25 oz, not the 18.25 oz and I could not find a bigger one. I did complain to Betty Crocker. I added a little flour but the topping was still not crumbly and didn't really brown. Don't know how they will taste, but I don't think that there is quite enough filling. I am trying them for a party but may end up eating them myself if they don't turn out right. May have to go back to my mother's recipe which always turns out but is a bit harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
when i eat lemon bars 2 years ago they tasted very good, you all sould bake some sometime this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Love love love this recipe. Foolproof delicious and very packable for boat lunches and horseback trips. Try it you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I just made the recipe and loved them the way they are. Am taking them to a pinochle party of 12 and will share the recipe with the women. Betty F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty
Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made just as recipe said. So good. Quick and easy. Husband and granddaughter loved them. Am going to make again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was actually so disappointing. I'm always skeptical about using boxed cake mixes and this recipe just confirms that scepticism. It tasted so fake and processed, and you could barely even taste the lemon despite me increasing the amount of lemon in there. Would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerri
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
EXCELLENT! I did as others suggested, doubled the filling, but I ALSO doubled the cake mix part. I used 2 lemon cake mixes with pudding in the mix (Betty Crocker), ADDED 1 small box of instant lemon pudding, 2 eggs & 1 C. oil and 1 Tbl Lemon Extract (1/2 mixture into 9 x 13, 1/2 mixture for top). Then for the FILLING, I used 3 pkgs, 2/3 C. sugar, 1/4 C. lemon juice, yellow coloring AND 3 EGGS (so it would firm while cooking). Baked about 30 mins until topping browned and middle firmed... EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States