Easy Lemon Bars for Junior Chefs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I was so curious about why the ratings are so 50/50 on this so I made them. If you want the custardy goodness of true lemon bars/squares, don't make these. I used Betty Crocker Angel Food mix and a 22 oz. can of Lucky Leaf lemon pie filling, but the recipe calls for 21 oz. so I left out a little over 1/3 of a cup, and baked in a 9x13x2 pan. They came out fine. I agree with the sponge cake analogies out there. They're edible and lemony, but I'd never take them to the church potluck because everyone would have the same reactions as the comments on this site! (i.e. what's this??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Wilkerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I just made this and it's fantastic and obviously easy! I added a squeeze of fresh lemon because I had one on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Deakin Awalt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Didn't work at all! Even my kid with a terrible sweet tooth would not eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
They come out like little squares of lemony sponge cake. That's be best description I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Best lemon bars I have ever had! Sadly, I first tried them after the funeral of a dear friend when everyone was getting together to visit and remember her. They were served with powdered sugar over the top. I went back a few times for more, and a lot of people were talking about them, they were a huge hit. My little girl is 9, and loves to make them because it is so easy to do. Easy, sweet and a bit tart, couldn't get better than that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. It is too spongy (almost rubbery) and had little flavor - not very lemony. Of course, looking at other recipe reviews, you slather ANYTHING with cream cheese frosting and it's great! Will not make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made with one jar of trader joe's lemon curd and minute maid lemon juice (1/3 cup)...baked 18-20 mins. Cooled completely and added a bit of whipped cream. Has a lemon chess pie richness, therefore, a tiny square is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I just want to comment on this recipe. I've found several versions on the Internet. Many call for two (21 oz.) cans of pie filling. So the first time I made it, I used two (15 oz.) cans, since that's what my grocery store had. It turned out fine. (My 3-star rating is based on that.) The second time, I went to the supermarket and found the larger cans, so I thought I'd try it with two of the larger cans. It was an utter failure! It rose too high and flopped over the side of the pan, and the center didn't fully cook, even though I left it in for at least 35 minutes. I guess it goes to show that you can't believe everything you read on the Internet! Next time, I'll stick to Allrecipes, where I can read reviews before actually trying a recipe! NOTE: The other thing I learned is that NOT ALL LEMON PIE FILLINGS ARE CREATED EQUAL! The first time, I bought Duncan Hines/Wilderness Lemon Creme Pie Filling. The second time, I bought the store brand. When I came home, I noticed the ingredients on the store brand didn't even list lemon as an ingredient! At least the DH/Wilderness brand has lemon puree and egg yolks in it! It tasted much more like real lemon and looked more appealing. The store brand tasted like powdered lemonade and was almost a fluorescent yellow! Always check ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These came out really weird. Strange texture and little flavor. The also didn't raise correctly. One side was high and the other low. I do think part of it is my fault because the angel food cake mix I got had packaged egg whites in it. I've read other recipes for this and it calls for the 1 step kind only. My mistake, but the flavor was still nonexistent. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
5 stars for ease - 2 stars for taste/texture! Very wet and dense, not much lemon flavor, nothing like a real lemon bar. Saw this recipe all over the place the week before Easter, so wanted to try. Will not make again-still have half the batch sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States