Easy Layer Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
They're just too good, and SO easy! The best way to spread the sweetened condensed milk is to cut a one-inch slit in the can with a can opener at "12 o'clock" and a two-inch one at "6 o'clock" and drizzle it on slowly. If you open the can, you're going to get a big clump in the middle of your cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I sampled something similar years ago, with a friend who said the secret on these was "not to over-do the choco chips"! So, I use only 6 oz of choco chips and a full cup of butterscotch chips - this amount is perfect! Replace the walnuts with those skin-on sliced almonds and don't pack your coconut. A thicker graham crust balances the sweetness perfectly. I like to add the melted butter to a bowl first to mix up and then spread on bottom of the pan. Cook on bottom rack - edges will look overdone but those are nice to trim off and sample! Kids love them frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
These bars were so-o-o easy to make!! The cleanup was quick too as you only use one pan. And they were delicious! I had some chocolate chips left over so I sprinkled them on top. Just a note: when you take it out of the oven, the center will be very gooey. The bars will harden once they're fully cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was an okay recipe - I didn't follow exactly because the amount graham cracker crumbs it calls for really isn't enough. In addition, the amount of chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, coconut and walnuts seem too much as well - which would explain those reviews where folks ended up with a sticky, hard mess. My suggestion....use your own senses and judgement. Put as much or as little of the topping goodies you'd like - just make sure that your base crust will be as firm, thick and stable enough to hold it all. Don't forget that the topping is mostly sugar and the condensed milk is sweet enough. You don't want to end up with something too sweet and have it go to waste! Overall - this was an acceptable recipe to use as a GUIDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Really good and super easy. I made sure to mix the butter and graham cracker crumbs completely and then evenly spreading it out again. You get a nice, even crust this way. Crust can be doubled if you want a thicker crust. 1 cup each of chocolate and butterscotch chip was plenty sweet, any more would have been too sweet. Mine was done in 25 min, with the coconut nice n' browned. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
These were pretty good. My only suggestion would be to not reduce the amount of chips too much (as some of the reviews have suggested). I followed reviewers' suggestions and used about 3/4 cup of each type of chip, which ended up creating a less-sweet bar. A little more sweetness was needed, which could be accomplished with more chips - especially of the butterscotch variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is similar to the recipe I usually use to make what I call "Decadent Indulgence" bars, only I use 1 cup of each type of 'chip', and I finely crush my crumbs into almost a powder; It helps it stick together better. Also, when you cut these into squares, make sure you cut them into small squares (1"x1" is plenty). Anything more than that is too much and will leave you feeling sick. I get requests for these ALL THE TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Huge hit. I used semi-sweet, butterscotch and white choc. chips. Sprinkled the few extra chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
this was a simple solution to a sweet tooth that wouldn't be satisfied. Not only did it provide the perfect sweet, I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and low fat grahams, and light butter to cut back on alot of fat and calories and believe me the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These were absolutely delicious, and a big hit at my Christmas party. I did have to cook it for about 45 minutes, but that might have been due to increasing the number of bars. Can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES72873

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States