Easy Layer Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
These were very good and easy. I did alter the ingredients as suggested by others. I used 1 1/2 cups of crumbs and about 1 cup of each chips. Very good and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is the best cookie recipe anybody has ever came up with.They are absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is just what I was looking for !! I had lost my recipe and hadn't made it for a while...kind of remembered it, but wanted a recipe to be sure I didn't mess up this delicious treat! Didn't have butterscotch chips so I substituted white chocolate chips...good! Omited cocont because my guy won't eat coconut. They turned out great and I will definitely make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was an okay recipe - I didn't follow exactly because the amount graham cracker crumbs it calls for really isn't enough. In addition, the amount of chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, coconut and walnuts seem too much as well - which would explain those reviews where folks ended up with a sticky, hard mess. My suggestion....use your own senses and judgement. Put as much or as little of the topping goodies you'd like - just make sure that your base crust will be as firm, thick and stable enough to hold it all. Don't forget that the topping is mostly sugar and the condensed milk is sweet enough. You don't want to end up with something too sweet and have it go to waste! Overall - this was an acceptable recipe to use as a GUIDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
These bars took me back to my childhood. My mom made them and we all rushed to gobble them up whenever they were in the house. This recipe is the exact replica and was just as good, except it was my kids that were running to eat them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This had such excellent reviews so I thought this would come out perfect. It was sickly sweet and chewy. I followed the recipe and did not overbake...or underbake, but it was a mess of sticky toffee in my pan that did not even taste good. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Quick and easy--no mixing required! My daughter is allergic to all nuts but almonds, so I substituted sliced almonds and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
These are the greatest bars (we call them magic cookie bars). The butterscotch is a must! Also, pecans can be substituted for walnuts (or can be left out entirely). Non-fat or low-fat sweetened condensed milk and non-fat or low-fat graham cracker can be used for a lighter version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Family and friends loved this! Next time I'll put a little less butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States