Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
omgg i made the best pie and im onlii 14 thankss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I like the fact that its easy to make and not many ingredients. But it should be made ahead of time, as it needs to be settled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I followed some other recommendations and used 4 yolks, 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and a whole cup of key lime juice. I made the crust myself. It came out quite tart, but in the way that key lime pie should. I always add brown sugar to my graham cracker crusts, and the sweet crust compliments and contrasts the tartness of the pie perfectly. This will be my default recipe for Key Lime Pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this pie as it was written. (besides a couple tsp of zest and a lot of whipped cream. :)) Firstly, I've never had key lime pie before, so I don't know how they're suppose to taste. I don't think I noticed any eggy flavor with this recipe; though I did think it tasted like Froot Loops, which I'm not really fond of, but I assume that's probably the nature of this type of pie. My reason for reviewing this is mostly because the amount seems very low for a 9" pie. Unless you're going to lay on some serious meringue or cream. I don't think mine even made it half way to the top of the pie pan. Soyeah. Just a warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Really delicious! I had no implement to squeeze the key limes (tiny little buggers!), so I did it by hand, a WHOLE BAG, and my fingers were sore by the time I finished . . . but it was worth it! Other than the lime squeezing, this was sooo easy! I will buy some sort of device to do the squeezing before I make this again which will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Very good for a pie that uses a ready-made crust. Of course, you don't have to either! The pie is on the thin side. (not deep) My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Not bad, but I do have to agree with everyone who stated that there is not enough lime flavor. I'll add lime zest next time, but this is easy enough it's worth trying again. I made my own crust with leftover cookie crumbs and melted butter, then prebaked for about 18 mins at 375. I also halved this recipe since I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk after using the first half for another recipe. I used mini pie pans we received as wedding gifts and half the recipe made 4 pies. The baking time was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
A super easy, fast to make pie. I used 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, 1 c. of lime juice and 4 egg yolks. I suspect 5 might have made it a bit more firm. Then I divided it between 2 pie crusts. A quick dessert. Wasn't Chloe's fave, but the rest of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great texture but my family of 10 were not at all impressed with this recipe. In fact some of them wouldn't eat it after the first taste or two. they usually like key lime pie. The condensed milk flavor was way to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
For those of you like me...born without common sense. Thoroughly mix the condensed milk and the lime juice. IN A SEPARATE BOWL...beat the egg yolks until smooth. Take a tbsp of the condensed milk and mix it into the eggs. When combined add another couple spoonfulls to the eggs. Now that your egg mix is no longer bright yellow add it to the big bowl of milk and lime juice...This is what people mean by tempering. If you just dump it all into a bowl together...you get really creamy filling with scrambled egg bits. Lime and egg DO NOT MIX ALONE. The citric acid will "cook" the eggs. Other than that this is a really good recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,038) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States