Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this today using fresh key limes from my neighbors backyard. I didn't make any adjustments. It came out perfectly. We just had some for dessert after dinner. My in-laws are visiting and they loved it. The hardest part about making this pie was squeezing the tiny key limes. I usually use Nellie and Joe's but since fresh key limes were growing over our fence I decided to use the fresh ones. To be honest, I didn't taste much of a difference. But the pie is good and this recipe is perfect just as it is. More filling just means bigger piece of pie and more calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this for a church fellowship meal and received great complliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleurdelisfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
also used 4 egg yolks, 1 cup of lime juice, and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk. a dream, especially with baiser topping (also a great way to use up the 4 egg whites)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really improvised on this pie, combining two recipes, as I couldn't decide which sounded the best. One recipe for white chocolate key lime pie had white chocolate and cream added to the Eagle Brand milk and lime juice. And this recipe with the egg yolks sounded good, so I just added the white chocolate chips (1 cup) and cream (1/2 cup) to this recipe and added another 2 egg yolks--I know, that's a lot of egg yolks, but I wanted to make sure it set up with the added ingredients. I also used about 1 1/4 cups lime juice. I baked it for about 30 minutes, too. It did set up just fine and tasted really good, but the white chocolate flavor wasn't noticeable, so don't think I'd do that again. Probably would just stick to this recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This reciepe does not specify how to "combine" the ingredients so I just mixed and I thought I mixed well. The pie never jelled in the over. After reading other receipes (and baking the pie longer in hopes of it jelling) I found that I may needed to have had to use an eletric mixer so the ingredients became firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I modified this recipe based on the reviews. I used 2 cans sweetend condensed milk, 4 egg yolks and 1 cup key lime juice. I baked for 30 minutes @ 350. Pie did not set up properly and was very tart. I think it would have been better with 3/4 cup lime juice and at least 5 egg yolks. This was my first attempt at key lime pie. Hopefully my next one will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I love this recipe... I also used 4 egg yolks, 2 cans condensed milk and 1 cup lime juice. Baked 25 minutes. Chilled at least 4 hrs and it's unbelievable. Family Loves It !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Made this with one modification - only used 4 yolks and added a bit of lime zest. It was wonderful and my daughter was thrilled that her birthday was celebrated with a key lime pie instead of a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I wasn't too impressed with this myself, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. I too had the problem of not enough filling. If I make it again, I will add the 2nd can of condensed milk as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My new favourite party dessert!!! I followed the suggestion for 4 yolks, 1 cup of key lime juice and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and adding some lime zest. I usually don't rate based on modified recipes but since there are so few ingredients and they are such simple adjustments I decided to this time. Deeelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States