Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Bitter without much lime flavor. I had to add a lot of grated lime zest to get more flavor, but I should have added some sugar too, because this wasn't sweet enough. It also didn't set very well. I baked it for twice as long as it called for and it was still a bit runny. Since I had 5 extra egg whites after making it, I decided to make a meringue by beating the egg whites with 1 1/3 tsp cream of tartar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and half cup of sugar. Then I put the meringue on top of the pie as soon as it came out of the oven, then baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. The meringue adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this pie as written and I did not care for it. Key lime is my favorite kind of pie, so I thought I would give it a try for Easter. It was SO tart and limey tasting, that no one could or would eat it. I ended up cooking a pre-made dessert from the freezer. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was so good and easy too! Based on some of the other reviews I used 4 eggs instead of 5. I also couldn't find Key Lime Juice at my grocery store so I used Rose's Lime Juice (near all the margarita mixes). It was delicious and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Absolutely the best! I would recommend this to anyone who needs to satisfy their sweet tooth, as it is very sweet ;) Perfect combination of sweet + sour = this desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Awesome recipe!! Very light texture and easy to make. I used Nellie and Joe's Famous Key West Lime Juice and this came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! I have baked it many times I'm in Florida though I've tried other self proclaimed "best key lime pies" they didn't quite suffy my own palate until I baked my own. I have created/followed a few different modifications: Definitely cut back on egg yolks -5 makes it too eggy and hard- I substituted the two cans of CM for 1 fat free CM 1/2 can of evaporated milk 4 egg yolks pure vanilla lime zest (about 2 spoons) and depending on how tart limey and sour you want it 1/3 to 1 cup of key lime juice (I've use reg. fresh lime juice about 1/3 and lots of finely zest) it's so creamy so good! **Tip: mix all ingredients but the juice take your time as the custard will thick out while adding the juice then putting in oven @ 375• for 20min then set for an hr or two. I use a homemade Graham crust yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very good and ridiculously easy to make! Boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It's difficult to believe how incredible this tastes given that the recipe is so fast and easy! I made it for a dinner at my parent's house and my mom really thought I bought this from a bakery. I do find that the recipe doesn't make enough filling... it seems to only come up 2/3 of the way on the pie shell. I might try making 2 pies next time and tripling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Did my own small tweeking. 1C.lime juice like others 2 cans SCM like others But 3 whole eggs beaten and 375 for 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The pie turned out well. I did as others suggested and used 1 cup of lime juice and 4 egg yolks. I am going to follow the exact recipe next time to see how it turns out. I will be back with an update when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States