Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Usually, I follow the directions exactly the first time I make one of these recipes. However, so many reviewers made these recommendations, that I decided to try it, and they were right. This pie turned out great. I used 4 egg yolks, 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and I used 1 cup key lime juice. The consistency turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
You can't lose with this recipe. Every time I've made it, it's a hit. I add the juice of a regular lime too - I like it a little tart. Easy, quick and quite tasty. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This could not have been easier and is the best key lime pie I've ever had. I made it for my mom's birthday (she's a major key lime pie fan) and she loved it so much that I've since made it many many times over. It's a big hit! We used Nellie & Joes Key Lime Juice (don't just use lime juice, it's important to get real key lime juice) and a pre-made Keebler graham cracker crust. The finished pie was sweet with a wonderful tart lime flavor. It has a great natural color (a very pretty light pale green). Once it has cooled, I add whipped cream on top to balance out the tartness. If you bring this to a party I guarantee everyone will be begging for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wowie this is good!!! I'm eating it as I type! And it was so easy! I took other's advise and doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did b/c it made a nice full 9 inch pie. 4 egg whites, 2 cans sweet cond milk, and 1 cup lime juice. I just realized that I accidentally used egg whites instead of yolks. That was an honest mistake, I wasn't even trying to do that to make it healthier..I just read "yokes" and for some reason thought of whites. Well, using 4 egg whites apparently didn't hurt anything. It made it very delicious and alot healthier! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The first time I made this I accidentally put four WHOLE eggs in. I was really worried it wouldn't taste good but it still turned out delicious! Oh, and I also used regular lime juice instead of key limes. So then I was curious how much difference there really was in flavor and texture if I were to do it the correct way. So I made two pies at the same time- one with 4 egg yolks and 1/2 cup of key lime juice squeezed directly from about 20 little key limes (very time consuming-ha!) and the other pie I used two whole eggs (as suggested by other reviews when substituting for just yolks) and regular lime juice. the latter turned out just as good as my original (I think whether you use 2 eggs or 4 it's still good) and with a mild lime taste...and the actual key lime pie made just with yolks.....was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I didn't think there could be that much of a difference but there really is! It was 100 % better than the other one in my opinion. Much more tart and bursting with flavor. I guess the regular lime pie would be better for someone who likes more mild flavoring. But there you go. That's the difference and it is a BIG one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great pie! I followed some of the review suggestions. Pre-baked the graham cracker crust for 10 minutes. I used 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, 4 egg yolks and 3/4 fresh squeezed key lime juice. Added some zest on top too. Beautiful and super yummy! Key lime is my husband favorite dessert and he LOVED this pie. Our son has a nut allergy and so many of the commercial pies are processed in a factory with nuts. So, it is nice to find a delicious recipe like this I can make for the entire family. One that is yummy and safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I wasn't thinking when I read the directions and I actually used 5 whole eggs instead of just 5 egg yolks and I didn't use fresh key lime juice I used the quickest easiest lime juice to find and I made my graham cracker crust using the recipe I found on this website and I was afraid I totally screwed the pie up but my friends and my husband all tried it and all said they loved it and my husband had it gone in two seconds and he said he wasn't going to try it because he doesn't like lime but I begged him lol so it is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Like other reviews I used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk and I only used 3 egg yolks due to the fact I had jumbo eggs on hand. I couldn't find key limes anywhere and read that you could use half lime and helf lemon juice to acquire the taste, and it worked perfect! This was amazing and super easy, my husband and picky mother loved it as did I!!!! Will certainly be making a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lildeb590

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My husband thought these were fantastic. I actually got the premade graham cracker crusts in tartlet size...this recipe was enough for 12 of them - put them on a baking sheet, baked for 23 minutes and then topped with homemade whipping cream sprinkled with a little sugared lime zest (zested 2 limes into a bowl and mixed with a couple teaspoons of sugar and a quick squirt of a fresh lime wedge)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I should've followed the true recipe instead of the reviews. 1 cup of lime juice made it way too tart. I will try it again but I will give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States