Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the best! Being a Floridian, I have had my share of both very good and very bad Key Lime Pie. I did make a few changes to the recipe after reading the reviews. I only used 4 egg yolks, I used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk, and I used 1 cup key lime juice. Hint**If you can not find any key lime juice then just use equal parts lemon and lime juice (best if fresh). These adjustments will make more filling than needed, but the texture and taste is better. I had to increase my baking time by 15 minutes. I prebaked my redi-crust and this came out great. The new #1 key lime pie for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
As other reviewers mentioned, I used 4 egg yolks, 1 cup of lime juice, and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk. This was just the right amount to fit in the premade pie shell. I then decorated it using whip cream and a pastry bag and garnished with lime wedges. Let's just say, the family was impressed not only with the taste but also with the appearance. Great pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1013 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was so unbelievably easy to make & produced such a delicious key lime pie! I first made it in August for my mother-in-law's visit & wasn't sure how the recipe was going to turn out. But it came out wonderfully & my mother-in-law could not stop raving about it! I had to print her a copy of this recipe before she left for the airport, & I have also emailed it to my sister-in-law upon her mom's request that she try this recipe. It has the perfect amount of richness & tartness for us (a small sliver goes a long way). The whipped cream topping was a beautiful touch! I used a Keebler reduced fat graham cracker crust & altered the recipe according to another reviewer's suggestions. I used 4 egg yolks, 2 (14 oz) cans of sweetened condensed milk, & 1 cup of bottled key lime juice. i had to bake for 20-25 minutes instead of just 15 minutes. We found out that it also tastes best when refrigerated for at least several hours. Hope you enjoy this pie as much as my family & I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
688 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
As written, a four star recipe--with the modifications I made, five star. First, I thought this pie deserved a homemade graham cracker crust, which I baked first, then cooled. Thinking this would be a little too eggy with 5 yolks, I used only four--perfect. I also knew the custard could stand a little more tartness, so I added 1-1/2 tsp. of grated lime zest to the filling. Perfect. I baked it at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, then when cooled, topped the pie with 1 cup of sweetened whipped cream. Light and refreshing citrus-y pie, and the perfect complement to a spicy Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Great recipe! It was a little more tart than I like, but that can be fixed by adjusting some of your measurements. I use the following: 3/4 c. key lime juice (Nelly & Joe's brand), 2 cans sweetened condensed milk, and 4 egg yolks. It comes out perfect EVERY time, and people constantly ask for the recipe. Trust me... these measurements are the way to go. I've made it this way probably 20 times at least!!! You can also easily cut back on fat and calories by using lowfat sweetened condensed milk -- you will never know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Excellent pie. We recommend using 1 cup lime juice, 4 yolks & 2 cans of condensed milk to fill the pie crust. Couldn't ask for an easier, quicker, tastier key lime recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
After reading the recipe and several of the reviews, I made an adjustment of my own that turned out great. Instead of the yolks, I used 4 whites and two cans of fat-free cond. sweetened milk. It was light, tasted great and even the health-nuts loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This pie is so divinely good! I used all 5 egg yolks, and about a can and a half of sweetened condensed milk. I also increased the amount of lime juice to about 2/3s of a cup - these proportions gave it the perfect amount of sweet-tart flavor for my tastes. I also added the zest of 3 key limes for extra flavor, and 2 small drops of green food coloring for a very light lime color. While I usually prefer whipped cream, I topped it with whipped topping, because that is what my boyfriend's family prefers, (I had cooked dinner for them.) and I think it works better with the rich filling than heavy cream would. Light cream would probably be just as good. Everyone loved this pie... its easy, quick, and delicious. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was the best... and so easy! I whipped this up for Christmas, and there were no leftovers! It's a must try! I followed the recommendations of 4 yolks, 2 cans of condensed milk, and 1 C lime juice... baked for 25 min with my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
For those of you like me...born without common sense. Thoroughly mix the condensed milk and the lime juice. IN A SEPARATE BOWL...beat the egg yolks until smooth. Take a tbsp of the condensed milk and mix it into the eggs. When combined add another couple spoonfulls to the eggs. Now that your egg mix is no longer bright yellow add it to the big bowl of milk and lime juice...This is what people mean by tempering. If you just dump it all into a bowl together...you get really creamy filling with scrambled egg bits. Lime and egg DO NOT MIX ALONE. The citric acid will "cook" the eggs. Other than that this is a really good recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States