Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is my favorite key lime pie recipe. Squeezing three to four limes is enough for the juice; I rarely add the zest, and it's still "limey" enough. I also make my own graham cracker crust - it's a MUST for good pie and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Four ingredients and done. 15 minutes to bake. This is a great pie for moms that need dessert for a kid banquet or something. I keep coming back to this one for emergency pies. I whip it up while making dinner. Put it in the frig when I'm cleaning up and I have it to grab the next night without the stress of finding something to buy on the way home before the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I added 1 1/2 tsp. grated lime zest to give it a bit more zing. It set up quite well after I cooled it on a rack for 2 hours, then refrigerated overnight. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It was simple. I combined the eggs yolks and condensed milk before adding the Famous Key West Lime Juice just until combined. Next time I will use about 2 TBspoons less it was a bit on the tart side. I will double the recipe for a thicker pie, I used a 9 inch pie pan and it came out a little to half of what the picture shows. Other wise I think it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Avant

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Tart and tasty... great pie for the sunny spring day we have today! I chose to make my own graham cracker crust --which I parbaked--and threw in the zest of my limes (approx 1T). I was reading other recipes and decided to use just 4 yolks and was happy with the results. Topped with some freshly whipped cream to even out the tart, puckery flavor, this pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ErinCNY
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I too adjusted the recipie after reading many comments. 4 Egg yolks. @ cans of sweetened condensed milk. I couldn't find key lime juice so I used 1/3 C lemon juice and 2/3 C Lime Juice. I also used a little lime zest inside the pie filling as well over the top of the pie. To be fancy, I melted some dark chocolate and used a fork to scatter over the top (loading picture). THIS WAS DELICIOUS and SUPER SUPER easy! Will be making again... UPDATE : i Did make again and this time found key lime juice. Added a tsp vanilla too.. Don't know if the van made a diff... But the juice did. I love it even more!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I've always wanted to try Key Lime Pie and this is certainly the easiest recipe I've ever run across. The taste was great, except ... Juicing key limes is extremely labor-intensive for the end result; We felt the graham cracker crust overpowered the flavor of the filling. But, at least, I can say I've now made a key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Bitter without much lime flavor. I had to add a lot of grated lime zest to get more flavor, but I should have added some sugar too, because this wasn't sweet enough. It also didn't set very well. I baked it for twice as long as it called for and it was still a bit runny. Since I had 5 extra egg whites after making it, I decided to make a meringue by beating the egg whites with 1 1/3 tsp cream of tartar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and half cup of sugar. Then I put the meringue on top of the pie as soon as it came out of the oven, then baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. The meringue adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this pie as written and I did not care for it. Key lime is my favorite kind of pie, so I thought I would give it a try for Easter. It was SO tart and limey tasting, that no one could or would eat it. I ended up cooking a pre-made dessert from the freezer. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was so good and easy too! Based on some of the other reviews I used 4 eggs instead of 5. I also couldn't find Key Lime Juice at my grocery store so I used Rose's Lime Juice (near all the margarita mixes). It was delicious and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,008) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States