Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
A phenomenal key lime pie that was so easy to make. Unlike many of the other reviewers, I followed the recipe exactly. If you are using an actual 9 inch pie plate, the recipe is perfect. I can see how if you were using a 10 inch plate you might want to double it, as the other reviewers have noted. I also made a homemade graham cracker cruts. I was able to find bottled key lime juice in the grocery store and I think that was the key to it tasting so great. I might also try it with the fat free sweentened condensed milk next time. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy McFadden
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe with one exception, I grated about a tablespoon of Lime rind into the pie filling. I made real whip cream. 2 Cups of whipping cream with 6 tablespoons of confectionery sugar. The pie was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent! You can make 3 pies if you use 2 cups of lime juice, 8 yolks and 4 cans of condensed milk. A little lime zest grated in also gave it a nice touch. I baked them for 22 minutes at 375. YUM! It's always nice to make extra to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wonderful, classic dessert, inspiring comments from this seasoned lemon and lime meringue pie baker: I hope "prepared" doesn't mean the graham cracker pie crust already in the pan, purchased from the store, ready to bake. Nabisco's original graham crackers have reappeared on grocery shelves after several years' absence and are easy to transform into a crust. Small crumbs are a snap when using rolling pin to smash and roll over the crackers while still in their waxed wrappings. To the crushed graham crackers, add just a little melted butter and sugar, to taste -- not much is needed, just enough to hold crumbs together in the pan. Spread moistened crumbs around the pan and press another pan the same or smaller size onto the crumbs for even thickness, but this step isn't necessary. The crust, if it makes it to the oven (try not to eat the crust right out of the pan before it's baked) is truly worth the tiny bit of extra effort. You won't go back to store-bought.This recipe is similar, but simpler, than the classic lemon meringue pie recipe found on the condensed milk can label, which I've been using since I was 11. But for those who love the sourness of lemon or lime meringue pies, finely grate some lime peel and perhaps also touch of lemon peel and a tiny bit of lemon extract to the lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very good pie. Rivals the key lime from a pie shop that delivers pie to many restaurants in the Tampabay area. Used Nelly and Joe's key lime juice--3/4 cup, 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and 4 egg yolks. Topped it with piped whipped cream: 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 to 2 Tbsp granulated sugar. Chill everything, including bowl and hand mixer for 30 minutes before whipping the cream. I was very impressed with the outcome. This recipe is a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Usually, I follow the directions exactly the first time I make one of these recipes. However, so many reviewers made these recommendations, that I decided to try it, and they were right. This pie turned out great. I used 4 egg yolks, 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and I used 1 cup key lime juice. The consistency turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
You can't lose with this recipe. Every time I've made it, it's a hit. I add the juice of a regular lime too - I like it a little tart. Easy, quick and quite tasty. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This could not have been easier and is the best key lime pie I've ever had. I made it for my mom's birthday (she's a major key lime pie fan) and she loved it so much that I've since made it many many times over. It's a big hit! We used Nellie & Joes Key Lime Juice (don't just use lime juice, it's important to get real key lime juice) and a pre-made Keebler graham cracker crust. The finished pie was sweet with a wonderful tart lime flavor. It has a great natural color (a very pretty light pale green). Once it has cooled, I add whipped cream on top to balance out the tartness. If you bring this to a party I guarantee everyone will be begging for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wowie this is good!!! I'm eating it as I type! And it was so easy! I took other's advise and doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did b/c it made a nice full 9 inch pie. 4 egg whites, 2 cans sweet cond milk, and 1 cup lime juice. I just realized that I accidentally used egg whites instead of yolks. That was an honest mistake, I wasn't even trying to do that to make it healthier..I just read "yokes" and for some reason thought of whites. Well, using 4 egg whites apparently didn't hurt anything. It made it very delicious and alot healthier! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The first time I made this I accidentally put four WHOLE eggs in. I was really worried it wouldn't taste good but it still turned out delicious! Oh, and I also used regular lime juice instead of key limes. So then I was curious how much difference there really was in flavor and texture if I were to do it the correct way. So I made two pies at the same time- one with 4 egg yolks and 1/2 cup of key lime juice squeezed directly from about 20 little key limes (very time consuming-ha!) and the other pie I used two whole eggs (as suggested by other reviews when substituting for just yolks) and regular lime juice. the latter turned out just as good as my original (I think whether you use 2 eggs or 4 it's still good) and with a mild lime taste...and the actual key lime pie made just with yolks.....was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I didn't think there could be that much of a difference but there really is! It was 100 % better than the other one in my opinion. Much more tart and bursting with flavor. I guess the regular lime pie would be better for someone who likes more mild flavoring. But there you go. That's the difference and it is a BIG one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States