Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It doesn't get any easier than this. I used lemon juice and it was really good. Not too tart and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I don't understand why everyone's trying to change this recipe... if done right, it's good like it is. I made this recipe with the ingredients as written, and it came out great (only I added 3 drops of green food coloring) I used 1/2 c. Nellie and Joe's Key West Lime Juice, 1 can sweetened condensed milk, and 5 egg yolks. For the crust, I used Keebler Shortbread crust instead of graham (I like it better, it tastes like butter cookies). I tempered the eggs, meaning I mixed the juice and condensed milk together in one bowl, beat the egg yolks in a seperate bowl, and gradually mixed the milk mixture, one tbs. at a time, into the egg mixture. I think the custard comes better like this, it comes out a weird texture if you just dump it all into a bowl and mix at once, because the eggs and citric acid in the lime juice don't really jive well. Must be combined slowly. That's the key. I baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Chilled overnight. Came out perfect, smooth and creamy, not eggy at all, bursting with flavor, not too strong, not too tangy, not too sweet, just right.. needs no alterations at all. This ones a keeper. Thank you Dinner2 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Yumm! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Last thanksgiving I baked this "Key Lime Pie". I was worried about my family and friends reaction when I baked it. Everybody gobbled it and praising me for baking such a tasty Key Lime Pie :) !! I did add extra lemon Zest and topped the pie with fluffy white frosting. I will definitely bake it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Simple As 123 This was my first time baking a key lime pie, and I am happy to say it was very easy. The keylime pie came out great, I did list to the ingredient instructions from some of the users I used 2 cans of condensed milk and 4 eggs. Next time I will add a little bit more key lime juice to the pie to give it a more citrus taste. I kid you not this pie taste exactly like a Edward's key lime pie that you would by in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I saw a review here which mentioned that this pie came out like a very dense cheesecake when they tried it, and I'm afraid I had the same problem. The flavor is good, but the texture is not what I'd wanted at all. I used the user adaptation that calls for 4 egg yolks, 2 cans sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup lime juice, and baking it for 'twice as long' (I did exactly 30 min) at the exact temperature suggested. This was the first key lime pie I've made, and the recipe doesn't tell you how full to fill the crust, so I had to guess, and filled it to about 1 cm below the top. When I took it out of the oven, the edges of the filling were slightly brown, and the middle was very elevated, jiggly, and far less cooked than the outsides. The texture is not silky smooth like every other key lime pie I've tried all my life, so as a native Floridian I was disappointed. After looking around some websites, it sounds like some people prefer this thicker texture, but I didn't realize key lime pie even comes this way so I'm going to try a different recipe next time, perhaps even a no-bake one if it's the eggs that made the texture bad in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
So easy, I made this for my son's birthday and he loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Oh Yes, And it came out wonderful we intend on trying it again next weekend. However our favorite are the key lime pies that are baked by Anita and Kutchie Pelaez's Key Lime Pie Factory and Grill. They are located near the Biltmore House in Asheville, NC. They are a very hard working married couple team, they use an original 1920'S secret recipe from Key West. We don't really know just what makes their pies so special. Perhaps it could be the love they have for each other magically transmits itself into their wonderful pies. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love this recipe with the revisions. Just wanted to add that I live in a high altitude location, so I cooked the pie for an extra 7min. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Awesome. Easy. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maicalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
First recipe I've tried from the web. Extremely easy to throw together. Very fast to make. Disappears just as quickly. Delicious!! Making again for family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,031) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States