Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I wasn't too impressed with this myself, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. I too had the problem of not enough filling. If I make it again, I will add the 2nd can of condensed milk as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My new favourite party dessert!!! I followed the suggestion for 4 yolks, 1 cup of key lime juice and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and adding some lime zest. I usually don't rate based on modified recipes but since there are so few ingredients and they are such simple adjustments I decided to this time. Deeelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I was concerned with the volume and rightly so it only made half a pie. The color was light peanut. I stopped in the middle and modified it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Gibson
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Really good and so easy. I used the lime juice from the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by I ♥ Food!!
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This pie is so rich and creamy! I didn't have a graham cracker crust so I used the delicious crust from the milk tart recipe on this site. I also only used 4 egg yolks and this pie turned out amazing! It set beautifully :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made my own homemade graham cracker crust and I added two teaspoons of grated lime zest. 350* for ten minutes was just right. This is almost a five, but I think it needs the lime zest to give it that extra oomph. My kids and I especially liked this. NOTE: For those who thought this was really tart, my advice is to make this quite a few hours before you want to serve it. The longer it sets, in my opinion, the better it gets. It mellows and really gets good. If you can get it to last that long, that is. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Everyone who ate this pie loved it! I added mint and it turned out extra refreshing. I didnt even use Key-Limes, just 3 regular ones and I included the zest as well. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have made this no less than 50 times and it is my most requested recipe! I also use 4 yolks, 1 cup of lime juice (fresh, bottled...sometimes 1/2 lemon, 1/2 lime, you CAN'T go wrong) and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, regular or low fat. For the crust I make my own and I think this is the "secret" that makes it a favorite. I put one sleeve of graham crakers (= 1 cup when crushed), 3T sugar, 1t ground ginger and about 1/4 c of coconut, toasted or regular (both work well) in food processor. Combine until graham crackers are fine. If you want more coconut, throw a little more in, but leave as flakes, makes a nice texture for the crust. Mix with 5T of melted butter, press into pie dish or springform and bake for 8-10 mins @ 375. Okay, this may sound crazy, but I promise it works. When I have made dinners for other families, but am rushed on time, I have made two regular crusts and divided the pie filling to make two pies. It truly works! Yes, the pies will be a little less "tall", but it is still great and for those watching their calories, you will have fewer, but still get to have dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Good in a pinch when I wanted to make key lime pie but didn't have sour cream. Made my own graham cracker crust and baked these in individual servings in muffin tins (w/liners)! Baking time was ~10 minutes and then I was able to freeze some for later! VERY good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States