Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
After reading through the reviews, I decided to stick to the recipe (and not tweak anything). Turned out great! Make sure to beat the eggs VERY well. I left in oven for 5 additional minutes also (20 total). This is my husband's favorite dessert, and he rated it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I've made this several times now and I also followed reviews from before. I use 4 egg yolks, 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and 1 cup of key lime juice out of the bottle. I squeezed the limes before but you have to do so many, so the next time I made it used the bottle and husband said he couldn't tell the difference. I also use the 2 extra servings graham cracker crust and it fits in there beautifully. I also have to bake it alittle longer, between 20-25 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I love this recipe as alerted by the reviewers using 2 cans of condensed milk, a cup of lime juice and 5 egg yolks. The only change I make is to beat the egg whites to soft peaks and fold them into the mixture of other ingredients. It makes for a lighter pie. And why waste the whites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this two ways. One with 4 eggs yolks and one can of sweetened condensed milk and about 3/4 cup of key lime juice. Then I made it with 4 eggs yolks, 2 cans of condensed milk about 1 cup of key lime juice. Both are wonderful and it really is a matter if you like it sweet or more tart. I did cook mine at 350 and a little longer. I also made my own crust. According to my husband, the pies were equally wonderful. I garnished with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ranger, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
USE ONLY 4 EGG YOLKS, it tastes a lot better Save egg whites to add meringue: after the pie is set let it cool a little and decorate, bake on low temp for 10 mins or until the meringue looks a little bit darker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
First time in all my years making a Key Lime pie!!! I followed the recipe exactly & it is just perfect!! We like ours firm but I can see how reducing to 4 eggs would be preferred by some people. It is wonderful & is going in my recipe box today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
SIMPLY AMAZING with a few changes. As others suggested, I used 4 egg yolks and 2 cans of low-fat sweetened condensed milk. My key limes produced 3/4c of juice, which turned out to be the perfect amount of tangy vs sweet for my tastes. I live a couple hours from the FL Keys and the critics here are extra tough, but they raved about this pie! My husband, who is not a dessert fan, even complained there wasn't any left to take home!! This one's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious and easy to make! I followed the other reviews and used two cans of condensed milk, 4 egg yolks and a cup of key lime juice. The key lime juice was a mixture of lemon and lime juice depending on your personal preference for tartness. (usually half and half). Ive made this multiple times using lime/lemon juice in a bottle, fresh limes and fresh lemons and a mixture of fresh and bottled. Its always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Well this pie was good but I used the 5 egg yokes, 2 cans of condensed milk and 1 cup key lime juice. A really good topping is to make a meringue by beating the 5 egg whites, 1/2 tsp cream of tarter, 4 1/2 tsp sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla to stiff peaks pile it on the baked pie and bake in oven until the peaks brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
It was a bit sour for my taste, even after adding a meringue topping. Maybe it was my key limes? Not sure as this was the first key lime pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States