Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I modified this recipe based on the reviews. I used 2 cans sweetend condensed milk, 4 egg yolks and 1 cup key lime juice. I baked for 30 minutes @ 350. Pie did not set up properly and was very tart. I think it would have been better with 3/4 cup lime juice and at least 5 egg yolks. This was my first attempt at key lime pie. Hopefully my next one will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I love this recipe... I also used 4 egg yolks, 2 cans condensed milk and 1 cup lime juice. Baked 25 minutes. Chilled at least 4 hrs and it's unbelievable. Family Loves It !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Made this with one modification - only used 4 yolks and added a bit of lime zest. It was wonderful and my daughter was thrilled that her birthday was celebrated with a key lime pie instead of a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I wasn't too impressed with this myself, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. I too had the problem of not enough filling. If I make it again, I will add the 2nd can of condensed milk as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My new favourite party dessert!!! I followed the suggestion for 4 yolks, 1 cup of key lime juice and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, and adding some lime zest. I usually don't rate based on modified recipes but since there are so few ingredients and they are such simple adjustments I decided to this time. Deeelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I was concerned with the volume and rightly so it only made half a pie. The color was light peanut. I stopped in the middle and modified it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaaaaaaaaa
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Really good and so easy. I used the lime juice from the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by I ♥ Food!!
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This pie is so rich and creamy! I didn't have a graham cracker crust so I used the delicious crust from the milk tart recipe on this site. I also only used 4 egg yolks and this pie turned out amazing! It set beautifully :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made my own homemade graham cracker crust and I added two teaspoons of grated lime zest. 350* for ten minutes was just right. This is almost a five, but I think it needs the lime zest to give it that extra oomph. My kids and I especially liked this. NOTE: For those who thought this was really tart, my advice is to make this quite a few hours before you want to serve it. The longer it sets, in my opinion, the better it gets. It mellows and really gets good. If you can get it to last that long, that is. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Everyone who ate this pie loved it! I added mint and it turned out extra refreshing. I didnt even use Key-Limes, just 3 regular ones and I included the zest as well. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States