Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I wasn't thinking when I read the directions and I actually used 5 whole eggs instead of just 5 egg yolks and I didn't use fresh key lime juice I used the quickest easiest lime juice to find and I made my graham cracker crust using the recipe I found on this website and I was afraid I totally screwed the pie up but my friends and my husband all tried it and all said they loved it and my husband had it gone in two seconds and he said he wasn't going to try it because he doesn't like lime but I begged him lol so it is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Like other reviews I used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk and I only used 3 egg yolks due to the fact I had jumbo eggs on hand. I couldn't find key limes anywhere and read that you could use half lime and helf lemon juice to acquire the taste, and it worked perfect! This was amazing and super easy, my husband and picky mother loved it as did I!!!! Will certainly be making a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lildeb590

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My husband thought these were fantastic. I actually got the premade graham cracker crusts in tartlet size...this recipe was enough for 12 of them - put them on a baking sheet, baked for 23 minutes and then topped with homemade whipping cream sprinkled with a little sugared lime zest (zested 2 limes into a bowl and mixed with a couple teaspoons of sugar and a quick squirt of a fresh lime wedge)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I should've followed the true recipe instead of the reviews. 1 cup of lime juice made it way too tart. I will try it again but I will give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Folks, This is the first review I have written. I have been a been a member for a couple years. Follow this recipe exactly. I did Juice my own Key limes as Kroger in my area does not have Key lime juice but did have fresh Key limes... One bag made the 1/2 cup juice... Probably the easiest pie I have made ever that was not out of a box... It is great... Kroger brand cool whip is soy free btw... This is great... One note my oven cooks low, I cooked 18 minutes but tap the side of the pie if it does not wiggle it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is my favorite key lime pie recipe. Squeezing three to four limes is enough for the juice; I rarely add the zest, and it's still "limey" enough. I also make my own graham cracker crust - it's a MUST for good pie and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Four ingredients and done. 15 minutes to bake. This is a great pie for moms that need dessert for a kid banquet or something. I keep coming back to this one for emergency pies. I whip it up while making dinner. Put it in the frig when I'm cleaning up and I have it to grab the next night without the stress of finding something to buy on the way home before the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I added 1 1/2 tsp. grated lime zest to give it a bit more zing. It set up quite well after I cooled it on a rack for 2 hours, then refrigerated overnight. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It was simple. I combined the eggs yolks and condensed milk before adding the Famous Key West Lime Juice just until combined. Next time I will use about 2 TBspoons less it was a bit on the tart side. I will double the recipe for a thicker pie, I used a 9 inch pie pan and it came out a little to half of what the picture shows. Other wise I think it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Avant

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Tart and tasty... great pie for the sunny spring day we have today! I chose to make my own graham cracker crust --which I parbaked--and threw in the zest of my limes (approx 1T). I was reading other recipes and decided to use just 4 yolks and was happy with the results. Topped with some freshly whipped cream to even out the tart, puckery flavor, this pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States