Easy Italian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I don't usually do reviews but for this recipe I had to. This chicken was fabulous! I made this for my husband and I with chicken breast tenders that we put over pasta with alfredo sauce and it was amazing! I did make a couple of small changes. I coated the chicken in chicken and poultry spice that I got from the grocery store before I browned it. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and put a little bit of garlic in the oil to brown the chicken with. I didn't have any red pepper flakes and my hubby isn't a big fan of the spicy stuff so I substituted dried basil. It was soooo yummy! I think next I'm going to try it with full chicken breasts or thighs...I may also try Italian seasoning instead of the red pepper flakes just to kick it up a bit. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I cooked this tonight using only the drum stick of the chicken leg. I used 8 of them and followed the recipe as written except for I used minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh. This turned out great!!!! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Delicious! I only had 6 chicken legs on hand. I followed the recipe except for one minor change. Instead of water I took a 1/4 cup and filled it half with chicken broth and half with honey. I simmered the legs in the minced garlic, broth, honey and crushed reds and it made a sticky, sweet and spicy glaze that I will use again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
meh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The recipe consisted of two steps, and I still managed to get it wrong. I was busy entertaining guests and ended up mixing step 1 and 2, but you know what? It still ended up tasty. I smothered the chicken legs in garlic and red pepper flakes before I started browning the legs. Because I did, the chicken did not end up having a strong garlic taste, which I did not mind. Also, I used chicken broth instead of water, and later made a thickened gravy to coat the chicken. After I pulled out the well-done legs, I added more chicken broth, black pepper, brown sugar, salt and flour, and let the gravy simmer for a little bit stirring occasionally. After the gravy was nice and thicken, I lathered it over the chicken. It was bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Needed a quick chicken recipe for some legs I got on sale this week. I originally had poured some Italian dressing over them in the fridge but didn'tg have time to BBQ. thsi receipe was handy. next time I won't marinade the chicken because it produced a lot of liquid. Didn't have red peper flakes and I'm sure it would have been better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
super easy to make and its incredible how yummy it is with only cople of ingredients added. thanks for this recipe its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
We were rather surprised and pleased at this dish. I have always had problems cooking chicken in oil as the skin tends to stick. Still, the outcome was tender and delicious, as plain as it was. I'd try some lemon juice or balsamic vinegar along with the water (or chicken broth) at the end of cooking. Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
It was soo good! I didn't realize how long it would take to evaporate so I just drained the rest, but it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Quick and easy chicken - add seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States