Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
i made it 1or 2 times, but everytime it was kinda slimy. So did a QUICK TRICK?? microwave the cut okra in a microwave safe dish for 5-6mins( depending on quantity) or u can bake, if u dnt like microwaved food much,)),, and then put in the pan ( with already sauted onions nd spice for few mins) and simmer for another couple of mins Under brown, and it turns out amazing though it may need some practise like every other recepie. really great with rice, naan or indian roti etc. another trick?? wash it a night before and let it dry overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Here's a variation that I like. Use frozen "whole baby okra" instead of sliced okra and a good olive oil instead of the butter and your dish won't be the least bit "slimy", or, as aficionados call it, "silky". Also, when you onions have softened to your liking and you've dropped your okra into the skillet, add enough water to almost cover the pods. Bring to a boil and immediately reduce your heat to low, allow to simmer - covered - for 10 to 15 minutes, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Clontz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good! I love Indian food and I needed a new recipe for my bumper crop of okra. This was perfect. I will definitely make this again. I did toss the okra in vinegar first to cut the slime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Vinegar is good choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband liked this better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The recipe is good, but when I added some home made Sriracha salt and it came alive! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Made this recipe with coconut oil and red bell peppers for color! Wonderful! A staple for tasty ( not slimy at all) okra! Like my okra crisp and reduced cooking to 10 minutes. Used okra that was smaller and cut into one inch chunks. Also, added garam masala like previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really,I loved it.No doubt all you dishes are awesome in taste. Also I have a query in mind,can I try this in Electric Tandoor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I used frozen okra and kept them whole. I didn't have any coriander. This dish made the house smell but I will say it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I had 3/4 pound of frozen okra. I kept the butter and spice amounts the same but reduced cooking time. The spices were not too strong but didn't seem to do anything for the vegetable. It was just tolerable to eat as written but was not too bad when dipped in melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States