Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Here's a variation that I like. Use frozen "whole baby okra" instead of sliced okra and a good olive oil instead of the butter and your dish won't be the least bit "slimy", or, as aficionados call it, "silky". Also, when you onions have softened to your liking and you've dropped your okra into the skillet, add enough water to almost cover the pods. Bring to a boil and immediately reduce your heat to low, allow to simmer - covered - for 10 to 15 minutes, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Clontz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good! I love Indian food and I needed a new recipe for my bumper crop of okra. This was perfect. I will definitely make this again. I did toss the okra in vinegar first to cut the slime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Vinegar is good choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband liked this better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The recipe is good, but when I added some home made Sriracha salt and it came alive! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Made this recipe with coconut oil and red bell peppers for color! Wonderful! A staple for tasty ( not slimy at all) okra! Like my okra crisp and reduced cooking to 10 minutes. Used okra that was smaller and cut into one inch chunks. Also, added garam masala like previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really,I loved it.No doubt all you dishes are awesome in taste. Also I have a query in mind,can I try this in Electric Tandoor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I used frozen okra and kept them whole. I didn't have any coriander. This dish made the house smell but I will say it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I had 3/4 pound of frozen okra. I kept the butter and spice amounts the same but reduced cooking time. The spices were not too strong but didn't seem to do anything for the vegetable. It was just tolerable to eat as written but was not too bad when dipped in melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Pretty good. I used a quarter of everything because I only had a little fresh okra. I had to add water to cook or it would have stuck and it did stick at the end. I used my cast iron pan and added a few slices of a chili pepper from my garden towards the end. Nice and hot and good spice mix flavour. I would make again and maybe add fresh tomato from the garden and see how it is. Good base recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States