Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very good! I used fresh okra and cooked a little more than 10 minutes. I also added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe is smashing! We took it to a potluck, and it was eaten right up! I think the title "Indian style" might deceive some people. With the spice amounts recommended, it doesn't really come out tasting like an Indian dish (although it is wonderful). This may be why many others are recommending to increase the spices. In any case, a welcome new recipe to my okra repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Delicious! Next time we will double the recipe. There were only two of us, but we definitely could have eaten more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
We "heart" this okra! It's also very good if you add a diced tomato and some chili powder. We've made this several times and you can subtitute olive oil or smart balance for the butter and it doesn't detract in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
After savoring every bite of this yummy dish, I just wanted to cook up more! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I wasn't sure of this recipe, but I try it because my husband love Indian food. Not only did he loved it, my daugther who don't like orka gave it a try and actually like this dish. I didn't have any coriander so I use curry power instead and it turn out great! I will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
another way to do this recipe is to slice one side of each okra lengthwise and stuff it with the spices. some spices will fall out and coat it during pan frying. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I doubled everything in this recipe except for the butter. I was following another reviewer who suggested that we would want leftovers, and I'm glad now that there are leftovers in the fridge. Also, I added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of the spice mixture, it is yummy! I made this with pasanday and zarda, and served with warm pita (couldn't find naan). It was a really good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
A great, and healthy, way to enjoy okra, and it was sooo easy to make. The only change I might make is add more of the spices: I like my food strongly flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
It was very good and not slimmy. My picky-eater husband liked it too. I added a little more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States