Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
So great! I cut up my okra and soaked in vinegar for 20 minutes, then rinsed. Not slimy at all after it cooked. In addition to the other spices, I added ~1T of garam masala and also quartered a few tomatoes and threw those in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very easy and would make it again. Remember NEVER wash fresh okra (that's what makes it slimy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
We "heart" this okra! It's also very good if you add a diced tomato and some chili powder. We've made this several times and you can subtitute olive oil or smart balance for the butter and it doesn't detract in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Being from the South with okra very plentiful I am always looking for a new way to cook one of my favorite vegetables. I haven't been exposed to much Indian food, so I was a little weary of the combination of spices. I went ahead and followed the recipe to a "T" and loved it! I was pleasantly suprised how the flavors bring out the sweetness of the okra. The only thing that I would change is that when using frozen okra, reduce the cooking time...it can get really mushy...I like my okra a little firm so that it holds its shape. Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this was delicious and easy and vegetarian friendly. I did soak the okra in vinegar prior to cooking--this does reduce the slime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Fantastic! My husband and I, being true Northern Yankees, never tried okra but we are now hooked! So good it will be part of our holiday feasts!! You can freeze this and then when ready to saute it, just dump it in a pan with lots of butter - just place fresh, chopped okra and all spices in a ziplock bag and throw in the freezer. When ready to use, simply take straight from freezer and dump into a pan with hot butter and cook. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALLIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I increased all the amounts of spices slightly and it turned out tasty. Despite what the other reviews said, I really think this tastes pretty authentic Indian - it's just like the "bhindi" (okra) my mom makes! Use fresh okra only though, or else it will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I wasn't sure of this recipe, but I try it because my husband love Indian food. Not only did he loved it, my daugther who don't like orka gave it a try and actually like this dish. I didn't have any coriander so I use curry power instead and it turn out great! I will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was nice change of how to make okra. I'm from the south so I'm used to it always being fried. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very good! I used fresh okra and cooked a little more than 10 minutes. I also added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States