Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was okay. I used frozen okra. It turned out well, only it was a little slimy. My dad kept complaining about the sliminess. (It didn't bother me!) Also, I felt like the dish didn't have enough flavor. Maybe, a few of my spices were getting old...but most of my spices are new...so I don't know. Overall, it was a nice alternative for cooking okra. :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
My husband bought a bag of frozen okra and only used a 1/2 cup in another recipe. I had never had okra before and did not know what to do with the rest of the bag. I found this recipe & loved it. Now I make it atleast once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I wasn't expecting this to taste like a dish from the Indian rest. around the corner. I still expected a little bit of flavor to it. Even after doubling the spices and sprinkling cayenne pepper on it, nada. It just wasn't for us. I had to doctor it up to where it was a completely different recipe for it to be edible for us. I did read the other reviews and soaked it in vinegar and added garam masala. My okra wasn't slimmy. It was just bland for us. We ended up with a nice spicy Okra after adding cayenne and other Indian spices we had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Interesting flavor--I've never tried okra before, and it was a little gluey. I added a little garam masala and a pinch of sugar. Also replaced the butter with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Easy to make. We didn't have fresh okra at the grocery store, so I used frozen okra instead and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was the first time I ever tasted okra, other than in a gumbo. I have to say that I did not really care for it. I did like the spice blend, though, and I might use it on other vegetables. It did taste "Indian Style" to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We grow okra and are always looking for something different to do with it. This is easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
So great! I cut up my okra and soaked in vinegar for 20 minutes, then rinsed. Not slimy at all after it cooked. In addition to the other spices, I added ~1T of garam masala and also quartered a few tomatoes and threw those in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Easy to modify, easy to cook, great healthy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States