Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I usually shy away from okra, but have been trying to incorporate more veggies into my diet, so I tried this - Much better than I had anticipated! I cut okra and soaked in vinegar/water solution, then rinsed and patted dry. The seasoning is not overpowering at all - I added 1/2 tsp salt, reduced butter to 1 Tbs., added 1/4 cup of chix broth to okra once butter was soaked up. I also added a small diced tomato. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have only had okra fried, in gumbo, or stewed with tomatoes so this was a great change of pace. Nicely spiced and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a good alternative to my usual way of eating okra. It was healthy and yummy. I did not change a thing. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Very good. I used frozen okra, added a little leftover tomato sauce, added 1 tsp of garam masala to the spice mix, and cooked for around 15 minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was okay. I used frozen okra. It turned out well, only it was a little slimy. My dad kept complaining about the sliminess. (It didn't bother me!) Also, I felt like the dish didn't have enough flavor. Maybe, a few of my spices were getting old...but most of my spices are new...so I don't know. Overall, it was a nice alternative for cooking okra. :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
My husband bought a bag of frozen okra and only used a 1/2 cup in another recipe. I had never had okra before and did not know what to do with the rest of the bag. I found this recipe & loved it. Now I make it atleast once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I wasn't expecting this to taste like a dish from the Indian rest. around the corner. I still expected a little bit of flavor to it. Even after doubling the spices and sprinkling cayenne pepper on it, nada. It just wasn't for us. I had to doctor it up to where it was a completely different recipe for it to be edible for us. I did read the other reviews and soaked it in vinegar and added garam masala. My okra wasn't slimmy. It was just bland for us. We ended up with a nice spicy Okra after adding cayenne and other Indian spices we had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Interesting flavor--I've never tried okra before, and it was a little gluey. I added a little garam masala and a pinch of sugar. Also replaced the butter with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Easy to make. We didn't have fresh okra at the grocery store, so I used frozen okra instead and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States