Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe was nothing like any Indian okra dish I have ever had. And it was definitely slimy which is hard to get past. The flavor was still good but it was not my favorite, I will probably look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Everyone loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juleskaye518

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was my first time cooking okra and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was very good and easy...the soaking in the vinegar didn't work for me and it was a bit slimy, but that's just Okra...it is supposed to be that way. I didn't have all the specific spices so I used Chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kobly Krieman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Easy and tasty. I followed others' advice and soaked the okra in vinegar for 20 minutes (all the time I had). It was still slightly slimy, so I definately don't want to know how bad it would have been without the vinegar soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I had never had okra before in my life but thought I'd try a new vegetable and this looked like a tasty way to prepare it. It was good -- though my kids wouldn't eat it. I would make it again -- easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I found this okra was slimy, despite other reviewers' reports. I did like the flavor of the okra, but I disliked the softness and the sliminess. If I try this recipe again, I will try baking it beforehand to draw out the slime, then rinse it before preparing it as the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I liked it. It was quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I usually shy away from okra, but have been trying to incorporate more veggies into my diet, so I tried this - Much better than I had anticipated! I cut okra and soaked in vinegar/water solution, then rinsed and patted dry. The seasoning is not overpowering at all - I added 1/2 tsp salt, reduced butter to 1 Tbs., added 1/4 cup of chix broth to okra once butter was soaked up. I also added a small diced tomato. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States