Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
A great way to cook okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was awesome. No changes needed. I made exactly as directed and we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
delish! i used olive oil instead of butter, and added diced fresh tomatoes as per other reviews. could definitely use more of the spice as well for a good strong flavor. it was soft but popping, not gummy as okra can sometimes be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was fabulous! I made it for a girlfriend and my husband and we all enjoyed it! That was about two weeks ago and I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe. The spices are just right. I was looking for ways to use my bumper crop without doing the fried okra thing. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Being a lover of Indian food, I am happy to say that I have found another way of eating okra. I tried this dish for the first time and loved it...has a very good flavor. I added fresh baby bella mushrooms. During the cooking process the liquids were cooking out (even at the lowest heat...probably the mushrooms sucking them out) so I had to add water twice until it was done. It could have been my smooth top range. I served it over rice and dug in. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
After making this for the 3rd time I was compelled to write. We have had a bumper crop of okra this year. This is the best recipe for okra!!! Having grown up on steamed okra, slim and all, this is not like that at all. I followed the recipe not changing a thing...it's perfect! The spices are so good and there is just enough butter without making it greasy like fried okra. I plan to freeze my extra so we can have it this winter. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was an awesome recipe. I actually used curry powder and doubled the suggested amount. Being a Southern gal okra wasn't okra unless it was fried or sauteed with tomatoes. Everyone loved it, including my 4 year old. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Eh... It's really nothing special. It's not that bad, but it's not that good either. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Love this recipe! I made it 4 times as it is written and on the 5th I decided to try soaking in vinegar. Don't do it! I rinsed well but it still had a mild vinegar flavor and, to me, it ruined it! I also doubled the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DorothyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States