Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
delicious! I added fresh tomoto chunks and more spices. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Amazing. i love how easy it is to make and my gosh the flavor is mouth watering.. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Here's my version that is much tastier! 1. cut okra into thirds 2. heat fry pan on high add 1 tbsp of canola oil 3. when oil is hot add ora, toss after every minute or so until 'blackened' appearance. Reduce heat to Medium 4. add 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp of corriander. Toss 5. add 1/2 tsp salt, 2 chillies chopped and 2 cloves of garlic finely minced. toss for another minute 6. squeeze 1/3 juice of fresh lemon. Toss and serve This should take no longer than 8 minutes. DO NOT COVER FRY PAN UNLESS YOU WANT TO EAT BABY FOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is very good but you do, absolutely, have to double the spices. It's not spicy-hot, it's spicy-flavorful and without doubling the seasoning, it wouldn't be either. Thanks for the nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good! I used frozen okra and reduced the cooking time. Topped with plain yogurt and toasted cumin seeds. Very nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Excellent side dish! Living in upstate NY, I didn't even know what Okra was until a friend from the south introduced it to me. I had to buy frozen whole Okra and that it in a bowl of water for a few hours, but I can't imagine this impacted the recipe too much because my wife and I loved it. I on;y had half a pound left, and forgot to cut the spices down in half as well, but it still tasted wonderful. I always use whole spices, and the cumin and coriander were toasted before ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this! I used frozen okra, olive oil instead of butter and added a dash of cinnamon, but other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I may try and make this into a a one dish meal by adding garbanzo beans and diced canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe is delicious! Easy, Quick, and everyone loved it! Fail Safe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I like this . . . after I more than doubled the spices! As written, this would have been too bland for my taste. I used frozen okra, and that worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States