Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
We love okra and this has to be the BEST we have ever had!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Scrumptious! My husband and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
6-3-11: Ann doesn't like okra. I thought this was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
my first time making okra. i would say this was a success. scaled the recipe down considerably. i didn't put in enough butter so i used some olive oil also. i cooked on high heat uncovered as to 'char' the vegetable. not bad. thanks caligal76!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was a great base recipe! A few changes: I used vegetable oil to make it vegan. I also used frozen okra and halved the cooking time. I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder, a pinch of cayenne, and a Tbs of tomato paste (with a little bit of water added near the end). This made it a little saucy, which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good. I started with frozen chopped okra, so it didn't take as long to cook. I threw in a can of diced tomatoes at the last minute after the okra were done frying. It turnned out really well and went great as a side to keema. Served with Pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
OMG! So good! Best okra I have ever had! I left out the corriander cause I didn't have any. It still tasted AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
So good and easy just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 71la

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yum! I'm not partial to ginger, so I subbed curry powder for it and added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne to a halved recipe. Spicy good! I tossed the spices in the pan before adding the okra. The heat works magic on spices. I used frozen okra, thawed and only had to cook the dish about 5 minutes after everything was in the pan. I added a little chicken bouillon powder before that simmer and served this with white rice. SO good! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent! I love okra in all it's slimey goodness, fried, pickled, and even raw, but I've gotten a bit jaded about it. I almost pickled this bunch. I'm so glad I tried this recipe instead! I'm sending it to my Mom, and making it for our next family get-together. Wonderful flavor, fantastic texture, and a great change from the usual okra. I took it off the stove about five minutes early, mostly because it smelled too good to wait. I stuck as closely to the recipe as I could, using what I had on hand. Goat butter, sweet onion, a hunk of thinly sliced fresh ginger, a handful of cilantro, cracked mixed peppercorns, and probably a teaspoon (maybe more, didn't really measure) of cumin. Oh, and I didn't slice the okra. They were little'uns, mostly under two inches, so I just tossed 'em in whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States