Easy Indian Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Pretty good. I used a quarter of everything because I only had a little fresh okra. I had to add water to cook or it would have stuck and it did stick at the end. I used my cast iron pan and added a few slices of a chili pepper from my garden towards the end. Nice and hot and good spice mix flavour. I would make again and maybe add fresh tomato from the garden and see how it is. Good base recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Loved it, and so did my husband. Added chopped tomatos (1-2), and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I had to use chili powder instead of coriander and I added some olive oil to keep it from sticking to the pan. I also didn't cook it 20 mins - only about 10 - it was browning too much. At the end I added some shrimp to it. ABSOLUTELY loved it. Yum! My husband loved it too and we'll make it again. So much healthier than frying - thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suemidd48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe was great.! I soaked the okra in vinegar then sliced lengthwise and laid in butter to brown while I added crushed garlic and grated onion along with the suggested spices and the vinegar that I soaked the okra in (great addition to taste). Next time I will use crushed jalapeño. Fried covered for 10 minutes...okra was fresh. Uncovered and added one fresh diced tomato. Wonderful addition. My husband whose favorite vegetable is boiled okra and tomatoes was thrilled with an okra dish with a new taste. Next we try baked okra...but it can't be this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
So easy! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Glad I tried. It was really good, but I did use hot salt and extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Unfortunately, my Indian husband did not like this dish at all. I followed it exactly as stated...he said normally Indians prefer to have their okra deep fried in Besan (gram flour). He suggested if I make this again; I should slice the okra length ways make a rub of the ingredients & smear it on the side that's cut open & fry in oil. I also added garam masala for flavor....Lets see if making it his way makes a difference....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I used frozen okra since fresh is hard to get where I live and added a can of stewed tomatos. I doubled the spices because we like big flavors. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was awesome! I love love love fried okra and okra in general. Im always a little nervous to try not fried on others but everyone loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Perfect recipe, it helps that I love Okra so much. I learnt on this site (little too late) not to wash Okra as it gets slimmy, did not affect the taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States