Easy Indian-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe is the easiest Indian recipe i've seen so far and tastes so good! If you like extra sauce though, I would suggest you use a little more than 1/2 can of lite/regular coconut milk instead. This insures that you will have enough sauce to eat over rice with. Also, I didn't have any cilantro on hand so I didn't use it. I did however, add more tumeric and cumin until it tasted strong enough because I like my Indian dishes very articulate. I served this with basmati rice and naan, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Per others reviews, I doubled the cumin and turmeric. I used tsp. cumin seed and 1 tsp. ground cumin. I didn't have chili paste, so I used 1 tbsp. sriracha sauce instead. Since sriracha already has sugar in it I omitted the brown sugar. It was pretty spicy. I often use coconut cream instead of coconut milk in recipes. About 3 tbsp + 1 c. water = 1 c. coconut milk. It's cheaper this way. I think next time I'll add potatoes. It was very flavorful and would be great with tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe would rate a 5 if the amounts of spices were doubled. I, at the suggestion of other reviewers here, pretty much doubled the spices used. I also used ground cumin, because I was out of cumin seeds, and that was fine. I also used hot chili oil instead of chili paste and it mixed well. Because I like savory spicy food, I tripled the amount of brown sugar in the mix and it turned out fantastic. Because I was looking to get some vegetables in the mix, at the last few minutes of simmering, I added some baby spinach leaves. They were great in the mix and didn't detract from the dish. Even my overly picky brother who "doesn't do hot" loved this. Serve it with basmati rice and naan, and you're set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia_A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was so good! I have zero complaints about this one. It was incredibly easy and so tasty. The recipe says the chili paste and cayenne pepper are optional, but be sure to add it. It gives it great flavor. In my opinion it wasn't spicy at all. I'm not sure what cumin SEED is or if it's the same thing, but I just used ground cumin. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was an easy and yummy different way to make chicken. It's definitely not the full flavored dish that you would get at an indian resturant but a pretty tame at-home version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I was so surprised by how good this is! I didn't expect the flavors to be so intense, when I read the ingredients I thought it may be a bit too sweet, and I don't like "sweet meat" lol. As I was cooking it, I thought there wasn't a lot of sauce, so I doubled all the sauce ingredients but left the chicken the same. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, EXCEPT I accidentally added A LOT more turmeric, because the top fell off while I was adding it! However, it tasted really good, so I think I will always add more than the recipe calls for, say 1.5 tsp for a double sauce batch. I also added one red chile and one green chile but I left them whole. This gives flavor without a lot of heat. I did that instead of the paste, along with a small sprinkle of chili powder, because I didn't have any paste. Otherwise, I followed it as written. It was so good! Will certainly make again and again! Don't be too critical if you're looking for gourmet indian, because this isn't it. But it's a fantastically flavored dish that will please a wide variety of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
So good! I followed some other reviewers' advice and doubled up on the spices- excellent. Even my kids (7, 4 and 2) eat it without complaint. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a great start! I added a can of mixed veggies and really upped the spice via garlic powder and curry powder. Also to trim some fat I didn't use the coconut milk (gasp) instead subbing plain Lowfat greek yogurt and added a dallop of sour cream when served. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! We will use this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCooksToo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is my FAVORITE meal! I make it with lots of vegetables and would even leave out the chicken if my husband would eat it without the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitcheemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is really great!! I made it for a crowed and doubled the sauce. I'm glad I did b/c it is so good with the basmati rice! It tastes wonderful left over too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States