Easy Indian-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I didn't have chicken breast but I used chicken legs, gotta say WONDERFUL. First time I have ever cooked something like this, the kids loved it! Their words "WONDERFUL" . :)Didn't have chili paste so I used some hot salsa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made this dish and it was so delicious and easy! Taste very authentic...I even surprised myself! I didn't use cilantro because I didn't have any, but I would of if I did, because I love it. I added more hot chile paste and cayenne pepper, because I like my food spicy. I added a little more water than asked to thin the thick coconut milk. Very easy and everyone loved it..will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marshreed
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. Like one of the other reviewers, I used double the cumin and brown sugar and used hot chili oil. I also added cornstarch to thicken it up. Someone made the comment that this recipe was too bland. I can't imagine it. Mine came out rich and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
So good and so easy! I made this in 15min! Yum. I did modify it to my liking and increased the recipe. I used 4 chicken breasts, 1 (400mL) can of coconut milk, 1 (156mL) can of tomato paste, ground cumin, turmeric, curry powder, and the addition of peas and lentils. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a good, easy, Indian-ish dish. I add extra chili sauce to it and use light coconut milk. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good and easy! I used a full can of coconut milk, and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce in place of the water and tomato paste, as I read in other reviews that there was not a sufficient amount of liquid. I also added a little garam masala, and everyone really liked it, even the baby. No left-overs! I made brown rice instead of white, and we had VALONE's Indian Saag on the side, with homemade paneer in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I was surprised how good this turned out! This is my first time attempting an Indian dish, and both my boyfriend and I really liked it. I could not find cumin seed so I used ground cumin. I agree that this does not give a very bold Indian flavor, despite doubling the spices. But I still highly recommend this to anyone who is new at cooking Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe would rate a 5 if the amounts of spices were doubled. I, at the suggestion of other reviewers here, pretty much doubled the spices used. I also used ground cumin, because I was out of cumin seeds, and that was fine. I also used hot chili oil instead of chili paste and it mixed well. Because I like savory spicy food, I tripled the amount of brown sugar in the mix and it turned out fantastic. Because I was looking to get some vegetables in the mix, at the last few minutes of simmering, I added some baby spinach leaves. They were great in the mix and didn't detract from the dish. Even my overly picky brother who "doesn't do hot" loved this. Serve it with basmati rice and naan, and you're set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia_A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was an easy recipe to make, but I probably won't make it again. The flavor was a little bland. It had some elements that I liked (the coconut milk, the cumin seed) but overall it lacked some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a mild Indian dish that most people would probably like. There's nothing wild or exciting about it, so it is good for those who are inexperienced or wary of Indian cuisine. I used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat, and I was still creamy and rich. Definitely serve this over rice -- it goes well with basmati. A friend of mine expressed concern that cooking this type of cuisine would leave a smell in her house, but there's no need for concern with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States