Easy Indian-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I was surprised how good this turned out! This is my first time attempting an Indian dish, and both my boyfriend and I really liked it. I could not find cumin seed so I used ground cumin. I agree that this does not give a very bold Indian flavor, despite doubling the spices. But I still highly recommend this to anyone who is new at cooking Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe would rate a 5 if the amounts of spices were doubled. I, at the suggestion of other reviewers here, pretty much doubled the spices used. I also used ground cumin, because I was out of cumin seeds, and that was fine. I also used hot chili oil instead of chili paste and it mixed well. Because I like savory spicy food, I tripled the amount of brown sugar in the mix and it turned out fantastic. Because I was looking to get some vegetables in the mix, at the last few minutes of simmering, I added some baby spinach leaves. They were great in the mix and didn't detract from the dish. Even my overly picky brother who "doesn't do hot" loved this. Serve it with basmati rice and naan, and you're set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia_A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was an easy recipe to make, but I probably won't make it again. The flavor was a little bland. It had some elements that I liked (the coconut milk, the cumin seed) but overall it lacked some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a mild Indian dish that most people would probably like. There's nothing wild or exciting about it, so it is good for those who are inexperienced or wary of Indian cuisine. I used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat, and I was still creamy and rich. Definitely serve this over rice -- it goes well with basmati. A friend of mine expressed concern that cooking this type of cuisine would leave a smell in her house, but there's no need for concern with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Tastes good. But as per my normal thoughts the milk stands out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Minshull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
It was really easy to make, but it didn't turn out at all like I expected. I followed the user suggestions, but it was still a bit bland. It got fairly good reviews, but it just lacks that good Indian food kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was really good! I didn't have an onion on hand so I used dried onion flakes and didn't have any tomato paste so I used a can of tomato sauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have to say I was disappointed in this recipe. I was hoping for something flavorful and this was very bland. It wasnt bad... but I probably wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Decent, a little bland....but pretty easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Pretty awesome and easy. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States