Easy Indian-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
So good! I followed some other reviewers' advice and doubled up on the spices- excellent. Even my kids (7, 4 and 2) eat it without complaint. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night and it was great. Doubled the recipe and I only made one substitute, and that was the cumin seed. When I started to prepare for the dish I did not have any cumin seed (thought I did!) so I used ground cumin and just skipped the browning and just sprinkled it on the onions at the end of their browning. It was plenty spicy. I wonder if the folks who did not think it was spicy have old expired spices, or did not follow the recipe correctly. Can't imagine it bland if made according to the directions. I did follow someone else who mentioned potatoes and peas would be good, so I did add about 2 cups cooked potatoes and 1 cup frozen peas at the end. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe-- so great! I also didn't have chili paste- but had chili powder and just added some water. It seemed to do the trick. The flavors were terrific! Will definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
A great recipe but not enough spice. Didn't taste salty & spicy enough, so I had to add curry powder. Not sure if it's because I didn't use the hot chili paste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a great start! I added a can of mixed veggies and really upped the spice via garlic powder and curry powder. Also to trim some fat I didn't use the coconut milk (gasp) instead subbing plain Lowfat greek yogurt and added a dallop of sour cream when served. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! We will use this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCooksToo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is my FAVORITE meal! I make it with lots of vegetables and would even leave out the chicken if my husband would eat it without the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitcheemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Per others reviews, I doubled the cumin and turmeric. I used tsp. cumin seed and 1 tsp. ground cumin. I didn't have chili paste, so I used 1 tbsp. sriracha sauce instead. Since sriracha already has sugar in it I omitted the brown sugar. It was pretty spicy. I often use coconut cream instead of coconut milk in recipes. About 3 tbsp + 1 c. water = 1 c. coconut milk. It's cheaper this way. I think next time I'll add potatoes. It was very flavorful and would be great with tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Awesome! My whole family loved this dish. I did follow the custom version adding yogurt and doubling spices. Overall, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is really great!! I made it for a crowed and doubled the sauce. I'm glad I did b/c it is so good with the basmati rice! It tastes wonderful left over too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I was so surprised by how good this is! I didn't expect the flavors to be so intense, when I read the ingredients I thought it may be a bit too sweet, and I don't like "sweet meat" lol. As I was cooking it, I thought there wasn't a lot of sauce, so I doubled all the sauce ingredients but left the chicken the same. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, EXCEPT I accidentally added A LOT more turmeric, because the top fell off while I was adding it! However, it tasted really good, so I think I will always add more than the recipe calls for, say 1.5 tsp for a double sauce batch. I also added one red chile and one green chile but I left them whole. This gives flavor without a lot of heat. I did that instead of the paste, along with a small sprinkle of chili powder, because I didn't have any paste. Otherwise, I followed it as written. It was so good! Will certainly make again and again! Don't be too critical if you're looking for gourmet indian, because this isn't it. But it's a fantastically flavored dish that will please a wide variety of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States