Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I originally submitted this recipe. I've been experimenting and have found a healthier low fat version that's just as delicious: 1/4 butter (instead of 1 cup) and 1 can of evaporated skim milk (instead of cream). Turns out lighter but just as delicious. I've also used white fish, scallops and prawns in place of the chicken sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipes was delicious! I made a few changes, mostly to keep the number of pans down. I carmelized the onions in a large pan, then I added the rest of the butter, tomato sauce, cream, and spices and simmered (on EXTREMELY low heat) for about 10 minutes. Then I added the ckicken bits right into the sauce mixture (without tandoori masala) and let it simmer on low for about 25 more minutes until the chicken was done, being careful not to boil the cream. The chicken was tender and the sauce was delicious. I served it over basmati rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. My husband loved it! One of the best Indian recipes I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
740 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Fabulous! The only change we made was to substitute the tandoori marsala with 1 Tbsp. curry powder. We loved it and will serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeyBeckyJ
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Excellent! I chose this recipe over others for butter chicken because of the shortened ingredient list. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and cooked everything in one pan (instead of baking the chicken). I found 3 cups of cream too much and only used 1. I also cut the pepper in half for a milder dish. Tasted just like India Kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Excellent dish! I served it to my picky family! My boyfriend swore off all Indian food, but after tasting this dish, he asks for it almost daily! Definitely a favorite around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe is sooo delicious! I followed it to a T and it was fabulous! Better than our local Wok Box fare. Our New Year's Eve guests loved it. I will make this again and I have recommended it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent! Tastes just like the real thing! I baked the chicken in the oven as directed and then simmered in pot for an additional 15 minutes with lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Delicious dish after the suggested adjustments! I didn't bother baking the chicken and just let it cook in the sauce on simmer until done. I kept it at a low temp the entire time and it turned out great! I also decreased the cream by half because 3 cups seemed to much for me. Definitely reduce the cayenne pepper if you want a milder dish. Great recipe and tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I also followed Naomi's advice to make it the 'easiest' Butter Chicken. I did however use the tandoori spice by just rolling the uncooked chicken cubes in it and then adding them to the simmering sauce. Will definitley make again, once i've burned off the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericasalad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Tasted good but WAY too much sauce. I saved and froze 1/2 of it for the next batch of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States