Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this last night and found it very, as it says in the title, EASY! I made a few changes, as I see a lot of people have. I made the sauce all in one pan - First caramelizing the onions and garlic in butter. I then made a sauce out of tomato paste (half a can), heavy cream, coconut milk I had left over from making coconut rice to go with this dish, water and some whole milk, all the seasoning listed above -- Then I added more butter to the pan with the onions and garlic but not as much as this recipe requires - In total I used 1/2 cup of butter. Then I added my sauce mixture to the pan and let simmer as instructed above. While that was simmering - I took out my chicken which I had previously already cleaned and seasoned with lime, garlic powder, pinch of salt and the tandoori masala which was marinating all day. I then pan fried that until golden brown on each side of the cubes --- Then added some SPINACH to the sauce that was simmering. I took a baking dish out and put the chicken on the bottom of it - And then poured the sauce all over and baked at 375 for half an hour. With the coconut brown rice, it was really really good. I have eaten my fair share of butter chicken, some of the best in Vancouver, B.C. and this came out pretty similar BUT I found it wasn't as sweet as other butter chicken I have had.. I think next time, to experiment, I may add a teaspoon of sugar.. sweetness and the spicy works well and again I notice all butter chicken I have had was sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My family loved this. I did cut the butter in half and used one can evaporated milk and a cup of cream, only because that's what I had. it was very good. May add a little more cayenne to make it a little spicier. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sibley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My husband loves this,I am not big on Indian Food but I love this recipe. Thank you. I do add a little more tandoori to make it a little more flavorful, I just triple the recipe so there's plenty of leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this for the first time last night - it was super easy and delicious. I did reduce the butter to 1/2 a cup and used a can of evaporated milk, as the original poster suggested. My kids aren't big fans of spicy food, so the only other change I made was to reduce the amount of cayenne pepper - I used about 1/4 tsp, which gave it a teensy bit of heat but not enough to put them off. Aside from that, I followed the instructions to the letter and I used the spices specified, no substitutes :) The whole family LOVED it - my 4 year old actually asked if she could have the leftovers for lunch AND dinner today. I'll be making this again, for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great EASY recipe. I don't eat Butter Chicken but my daughter has been buying it at the restaurants. See gave 2 thumbs up and we will save tons of money with this recipe. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I make this recipe all the time! It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Just like sitar's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Didn't add the salt. Watch the cream to make sure it doesn't boil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I liked this recipe. Half a recipe was enough for four of us. Is used one can of evaporated milk n stead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States