Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was really good. I did have to follow what others said instead of the original recipe because it's wayyyy too fattening. I didn't have condensed milk so I used regular 2% milk with about 2 or 3 tbsp of dry milk. Another time I made it using half and half cream and...that didn't turn out too great, it was good, but not great. 1 thing to remember is you have to use a good tandoori masala, I used a cheap one once and it was all pink! lol,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Just had this for dinner tonight. Made exactly as written and it was awesome! The only problem I had was that my sauce did not thicken but it was still delicious, I will just add the cream more slowly next time. Served it over basmati rice and even my picky 8 year old loved it. As an added bonus, my house smells divine. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Great taste! The only thing I will change next time is the amount of butter. 1/4 cup should be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This a really delicious butter chicken recipe! I did change a few things. I marinate the chicken in a tandoori masala and yogurt mix for about an hour beforehand, and I don't add as much cream or salt. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe to the letter, and I thought it had too much cream and was a little too salty. Now I only put 2 cups of cream and half the amount of salt. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
It definitely isn't perfect butter chicken but it's probably the best I'll ever make. Good Indian food recipes are so hard to get your hands on. I am Indian so this rating includes an authenticity factor. It's very rich and the chicken came out delicious. The other popular butter chicken recipe on the site came out horrible when I made it and I think it was the difference between using heavy cream and sour cream. Recipe edit: I eliminated the butter and used 2 tbs oil to caramelize the onion and garlic, I halved the salt, lastly I drain out the chicken after I bake it. I want to try cooking the chicken in the sauce itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was easy and very yummy...think next time I will try and lighten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the "light" version. I changed some of the spices a bit (less salt, less cayenne pepper ouch) but nothing too dramatic. We liked this a lot, though next time I'll probably skewer the chicken pieces and cook them on a cookie rack on top of a cookie sheet so I can get them a bit less steamed (mine gave off a ton of liquid due to having been frozen, a problem I solve by cooking on a cookie cooling rack on a cookie sheet). Just personal preference on that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was good, but the onion and garlic were very strong. Also tasted a little like tomato soup. I would add more garam masala, and some of the tandoori masala to the sauce. Maybe its the tomato sauce I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone Poyhia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as written (minus the onions, personal dislike) as a birthday meal for my husband. It was a huge success! Served it with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan. Yummy! The only critique I would give is that I had way more sauce than necessary for the amount of chicken. I could have easily added half or more again of chicken. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very yummy (reduced fat version of course)! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States