Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I used the "light" version (1/4 c. butter, 1 can evaporated milk, 1 can light coconut milk) and made minor alterations. Doubled the onion, added all spices to onion/garlic after 10 minutes and sauteed everything for 5 more. Then added all liquids and pureed everything together in a blender until smooth. Then put the sauce back on the stove to simmer. I started the chicken in another pan and when about half cooked, added it to the sauce to simmer on low until done. Served with Basmati rice. My family RAVED about dinner! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
A very nice recipe! Among other people on here, I ended up substituting the heavy cream with evaporated milk. Also subbed out the tandoori masala for 1 tbl spoon of curry powder. This dish is very flavorful and goes well with basmati rice. I'd you want a little more spice then put a bit more cayenne pepper in it. I really enjoyed this recipe. Totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smyth K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I've made butter chicken numerous times for my family in the past - we love the complexity of flavors that can be achieved even in a mild curry. Wanting a quicker version of the awesomely delicious restaurant style butter chicken I usually make, I decided to try this recipe out. Not a fan. This curry is bland, very heavy and is much too creamy, and is definitely lacking any depth of flavor. I doubled the amount of garam masala because all I could taste was butter and cream, and even then there's just so much missing from the curry. Sorry, I really wanted to love this, but I'm going to be sticking to my usual recipe that includes ginger paste, tomato paste/puree, and fenugreek leaves. All in all, this recipe is for someone who wants something easy, extremely mild and extremely (overly) creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great recipe! I've been using it for over a year now and our family just loves it. Because of gluten/dairy allergies/intolerance, I have tweaked the recipe to suite my dietary needs. I use 1/2 the butter (sometimes you just gotta have a little dairy) and I use coconut milk instead of heavy cream. It turned out even better! The family had no idea that I switched it out and just thought I made an exceptionally good batch! I also use extra Tandoori because I just love the flavour! Thanks for posting this! I'm about to make it again tonight! Off I go ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Thank you for shating this recipe. It was very easy to do and was really delicious. I made the leaner version using 1/4 cup of butter and a can of evaporated skim milk. I also used a home-made biryani spice mix in lieu of garam masala (which seems to vary depending on brands, so really I would just use your favourite curry spice mix). I made it as the directions dictated, but next time I will cook the chicken in the sauce like other cooks to compare the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I was so impressed with this recipe! It was worth every calorie. I have served it twice to rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I doubled portions of the garlic and onion, caramelized it all. Half went into the simmering sauce; half went on top of the chicken (I used chicken breasts) which baked at 375F for 50 minutes. My husband had two servings of everything. The sauce is remarkable. This recipe will make you an instant food genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was delicious! Had my whole house smelling like an Indian restaurant :) I did make a few modifications in the interest of trimming some of the fat/calories. Instead of 3 cups heavy cream, I used 1 cup heavy cream and 2 cups fat free half & half. Also, I only used 1/2 cup butter for the entire recipe instead of 1 cup. The sauce may have been a bit thinner because of these changes, but the rice seemed to absorb it during the eating. Also, it had a creamy texture and taste, but wasn't too heavy. I couldn't find tandoori masala like everyone else, so I found a recipe for the spice mix on Food.com - my cupboard had all of the spices except mace, fenugreek, and cardamom (and I left out the red food coloring). The spice mix was still delicious on the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azgirl26
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Used this recipe for my first attempt at making an Indian dish, and it came out so yummy!! I will make it again. Maybe with a little less butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azgirl26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States