Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious! I understand it's not for those watching their health, but it is my absolute favorite Indian dish. It's called BUTTER chicken. The indulgent sauce is what makes it amazing! This recipe turned out better than some Indian restaurants around Hampton Roads, VA. Still looking for a good one... The sauce seemed a bit thin though. I saw another recipe that stated authentic chicken makhani is thickened with pureed cashews. I'm going to try that one next. Also, I had to make my own garam and tandoori masala mix. The nearest ethnic food store is through the tunnel about 25 minutes away and I wasn't about to make my appetite wait any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Delicious. My husband said it was better than his favorite indian restaurant. I followed the lower fat recipe and added spinach. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
First off, I couldnt get over how fatty this recipe was!!! This truely is a BUTTER chicken recipe! So I decided to dramatically cut down the butter to 1/3 cup and substituted the whipping cream for almond milk. True, if was a thinner consistency than the original recipe would have been, but still tasted great and was WAY healthier. Aside from the fat content....delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe!!! VERY rich but using less sauce covers that issue. My only small suggestion is maybe a little more spice?? An easy fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I replaced some of the cream with coconut milk and added some ginger. Wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this last night and found it very, as it says in the title, EASY! I made a few changes, as I see a lot of people have. I made the sauce all in one pan - First caramelizing the onions and garlic in butter. I then made a sauce out of tomato paste (half a can), heavy cream, coconut milk I had left over from making coconut rice to go with this dish, water and some whole milk, all the seasoning listed above -- Then I added more butter to the pan with the onions and garlic but not as much as this recipe requires - In total I used 1/2 cup of butter. Then I added my sauce mixture to the pan and let simmer as instructed above. While that was simmering - I took out my chicken which I had previously already cleaned and seasoned with lime, garlic powder, pinch of salt and the tandoori masala which was marinating all day. I then pan fried that until golden brown on each side of the cubes --- Then added some SPINACH to the sauce that was simmering. I took a baking dish out and put the chicken on the bottom of it - And then poured the sauce all over and baked at 375 for half an hour. With the coconut brown rice, it was really really good. I have eaten my fair share of butter chicken, some of the best in Vancouver, B.C. and this came out pretty similar BUT I found it wasn't as sweet as other butter chicken I have had.. I think next time, to experiment, I may add a teaspoon of sugar.. sweetness and the spicy works well and again I notice all butter chicken I have had was sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My family loved this. I did cut the butter in half and used one can evaporated milk and a cup of cream, only because that's what I had. it was very good. May add a little more cayenne to make it a little spicier. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sibley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My husband loves this,I am not big on Indian Food but I love this recipe. Thank you. I do add a little more tandoori to make it a little more flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States