Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipes was delicious! I made a few changes, mostly to keep the number of pans down. I carmelized the onions in a large pan, then I added the rest of the butter, tomato sauce, cream, and spices and simmered (on EXTREMELY low heat) for about 10 minutes. Then I added the ckicken bits right into the sauce mixture (without tandoori masala) and let it simmer on low for about 25 more minutes until the chicken was done, being careful not to boil the cream. The chicken was tender and the sauce was delicious. I served it over basmati rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. My husband loved it! One of the best Indian recipes I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
732 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Excellent dish! I served it to my picky family! My boyfriend swore off all Indian food, but after tasting this dish, he asks for it almost daily! Definitely a favorite around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe is sooo delicious! I followed it to a T and it was fabulous! Better than our local Wok Box fare. Our New Year's Eve guests loved it. I will make this again and I have recommended it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I've made this recipe many times and everyone I serve it to is a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent! Tastes just like the real thing! I baked the chicken in the oven as directed and then simmered in pot for an additional 15 minutes with lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is soo delicious. I didn't have tandoori masala, so I used plain tandoori with some garam masala. I also took and mashed the chicken a bit with a potato masher to make it more melt in your mouth. Very good on rice and naan bread. Have made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I originally submitted this recipe. I've been experimenting and have found a healthier low fat version that's just as delicious: 1/4 butter (instead of 1 cup) and 1 can of evaporated skim milk (instead of cream). Turns out lighter but just as delicious. I've also used white fish, scallops and prawns in place of the chicken sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Fabulous! The only change we made was to substitute the tandoori marsala with 1 Tbsp. curry powder. We loved it and will serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
We followed Naomi's advice with 2 additional things: Tandori Powder and Sugar. I know that sugar is one of the main ingredient as traditional butter chicken is slightly sweeter. If you love this dish, then prepare it next time with sugar... try a little bit and keep adding until it's slightly sweeter. Don't turn this into a dessert! Two days later we went to an indian restaurant, I couldn't tell the difference between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Close to the best I've ever had. It seems to have the right balance between rich creamyness, spice, and sweetness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States