Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was a very easy recipe and it tasted pretty authentic. My friend and I cooked it together and tripled the recipe so we would be able to freeze leftovers. However, to get the spices to meld more and develop more depth, I marinated my chicken pieces in yogurt, tandoori masala, lime juice, salt, pepper, grated ginger and chopped onion for about 6 hours. We found that this also made the chicken more tender. It was a huge hit with kids and adults alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Delicious! I prepared shredded chicken in the crockpot the day before... so I used the chicken I had on hand. Served on a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This turned out great! I accidentally read the tomato sauce as tomato paste and used the tomato paste instead. i had a little bit of pasta sauce and added a little bit to it. Turned out delicious. It is "butter" chicken, so no surprise there with the butter and cream. Great for a once-in-a-while meal treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I'm a novice cook, but was able to make this recipe with no problem. It was absolutely delicious! Will use other reviews next time and cut down on the amount of cream that goes into it. It was even better the next day! I bought the garam masala at a local Indian store as I couldn't find it at my supermarket. Also, if you're going to give this to kids, cut down of course on the cayenne. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Love this recipe. Have made it several times and it's as good as any restaurant butter chicken I've had. It's a little time consuming, but a great dish to make for company. Most people love it and it's a little exotic! Definitely not healthy though, not something you would want to make all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarmaCamille426
Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good! The whole family liked it. I used half & half and heavy cream and it worked fine. Also cut back on butter a little. Might want to increase the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Well I made this exactly as directed and thought it was great tasting but too thin. Any suggestions to thicken the sauce would be appreciated. I think maybe next time Iwon't cook it as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hill Afb, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was a great base for a butter chicken recipe. I substituted diced tomatoes and tomato paste for the tomato sauce, I cooked my chicken in butter and garlic and then poured the whole mess into the tomato sauce, used 2% milk to colour I liked, thickened it slightly with flour and let it go in 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.. I also didn't have garam so used curry, garlic, cinnamon, cumin to taste..always taste..It sounds like I changed a lot but the base is great to make it your own..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakefield, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this in one pot - very tasty. I didn't have tandoori masala, so I coated the chicken in curry w/o oil. This recipe is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States