Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Sinfully delicious. This is by no means a diet meal. Heavens, no! In fact, it's so darned good, I found portion control next to impossible. I, too, substituted curry for the tandoori masala simply because I didn't have (and couldn't find at my local store) the tandoori masala. It turned out fantastic! I'll be making this again... soon. This is a keeper! I love recipes that are easy AND delicious. This is just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Yum! If i didnt have to buy the ingredients all the time i would have it every night for dinner. I added 2pinch's of Cumin Seeds (Jeera) and also 2 pinch's of dried fenegreek leaves. This recipe is amazing. (I only do half everything for the sauce as when i do it all i find i dont use it all, therefore my pinches of the 2 spices above a as per a half batch of sauce). Thank youuuu!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 times now... the first 2 times I made it with the condensed milk change but with 4% and it was DELICIOUS!!!! My husband and I go out for Indian food every few months and I felt like I was at an authentic Indian restaurant eating this dish. SO YUMMY! The third time I made this dish I made it with skim condensed milk and for some reason it ended up curdling on me. I dont know if it was the change of milk, or being too confident and having the heat on high (I also used a different stove) but I just added 1/2 cup of regular 1% milk to thin it out and it still tasted very yummy. One of my favorite recipes I have found on Allrecipes.com. Thank you thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used the recipe for a curry competition ...... and I won!! Love love love love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dunx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Returned from traveling India and missed some of the foods we ate, tried this recipe and my whole family loved it! Easy to make and can not get it enough, now a weekly menu item at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Worth every calorie. Use boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
very good. I didn't have tandoori masala, but thanks to another reviewer I mixed 1/2t garlic powder, 1/8t ginger, lime zest,a dash of curry, 1/2t chili powder & 1/8t garam masala together as a tandoori masala substitution. Per other reviewers I cooked chicken on stove top ahead of time, added some asparagus broccoli, lighten it by using evaporated milk and 1/4 c butter. Accidently bought tomato paste instead of sauce. Definitely thickened up quicker. Will try sauce next time as a comparison. Wasn't spicy enough for my taste, but for my family of 5 it was perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Bredben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family *loves* this recipe as a special (yes, very high-fat) meal. I can't find tandoori masala. I just mix some curry powder and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I really don't see how this is getting 5 stars. I had to cut the cream in half and I'm glad I stopped pouring when I did and stirred and tasted it. I should have cut it a little more. It's kind of bland overall. Had to add more spice. I probably wouldn't make this version again. Disappointed, because this was the easiest recipe I found. :/ Edit to add that the sauce is also pretty thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Instead of the garam masala and the cayenne pepper for the sauce, I just used a Indian Marsala mix that I bought in the supermarket and the result was great! For the chicken, I used just salt and a little bit of red pepper (no tandori masala). The changes were due to availability of what I had, but the results were great anyway! Definitely, going to make it again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States