Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I was so impressed with this recipe! It was worth every calorie. I have served it twice to rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I doubled portions of the garlic and onion, caramelized it all. Half went into the simmering sauce; half went on top of the chicken (I used chicken breasts) which baked at 375F for 50 minutes. My husband had two servings of everything. The sauce is remarkable. This recipe will make you an instant food genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was delicious! Had my whole house smelling like an Indian restaurant :) I did make a few modifications in the interest of trimming some of the fat/calories. Instead of 3 cups heavy cream, I used 1 cup heavy cream and 2 cups fat free half & half. Also, I only used 1/2 cup butter for the entire recipe instead of 1 cup. The sauce may have been a bit thinner because of these changes, but the rice seemed to absorb it during the eating. Also, it had a creamy texture and taste, but wasn't too heavy. I couldn't find tandoori masala like everyone else, so I found a recipe for the spice mix on Food.com - my cupboard had all of the spices except mace, fenugreek, and cardamom (and I left out the red food coloring). The spice mix was still delicious on the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azgirl26
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Used this recipe for my first attempt at making an Indian dish, and it came out so yummy!! I will make it again. Maybe with a little less butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azgirl26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Could not find tandoori masala so used curry powder instead. Use the healthy one pan method from other reviews. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This dish came out AWESOME!!! My husband and I eat indian food at least once a week, and I've been searching for an easy recipe to make our favorite dish at home. I used all ingredients listed, except the tandoori masala. I substituted curry like other reviewers suggested and the dish was great!! I served with plain white rice and garlic and cheese naan. My husband and neighbors even like it better than the Indian restaurant's butter chicken! I have sent this recipe to friends and will definitely be making again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Fantastic recipe written just as it is, no need to change a thing! I didn't have heavy cream on hand today so subbed for homogenized milk, it turned out tasting great, but definitely had to simmer for the full 30 minutes to smooth out the texture (it looked curdled when first added!) I also added a little corn starch at the end to help thicken it, when using cream there is no need for this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was fantastic! Even my three year old ate it, cant wait for hubby to come home to try it, he is a big fan of Indian food and I am glad I found this recipe, it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susscat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
FOR ALL THE BUTTER CHICKEN JUNKIES OUT THERE.... This is a tremendously amazing recipe... Good enough to open a dam RESTURANT with. Don't listen to other reviewers that said it was close or didn't taste authentic... It's PERFECT. Now I did do 3 extra things different 1) I doubled the garam masala 2) I added 10 oz of tomato sauce and 5 oz of coconut milk to make a total if 15 oz. 3) I added at the end 1/2 cup chopped cilantro and mixed all together! Thank you M N for posting this perfect recipe And for all of you that think 1 cup of butter and 3 cups of heavy cream is too much..... Well your wrong.... It's as authentic as it gets and do good. If your trying to watch your caloric intake then use the lower fat recipe suggested by other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was so delicious!!! I made the mistake of using salted butter. Do not add the salt called for if that is what you are going to use. I let this simmer for about an hour just to try to reduce the sauce a bit and then added some green beans at the end. This just may become a regular meal in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States