Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I had to make a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. I combined a couple of other recipes with this one, and used some of the suggestions made in the comments. It turned out great! and now I have my own unique 'butter chicken' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I cheated and it was still great. One pot, low calorie version, and I used left over rotisserie chicken marinated in a little olive oil and tandoori masala. Just kept the temperature low while I was stirring in the evaporated milk, and I had no curdling issues. Big fans of cilantro in my house, so I threw some in the sauce and some as a garnish. I did thicken the sauce a bit with a flour/water mixture, and added the chicken in the last five minutes.. Served with store bought garlic naan bread and jasmine rice, since that's what I had in the house. This was really, really good. Adjust the spices to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McJanine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I LOVE this recipe (and so do all my coworkers and friends). This is my go to recipe for a potluck dish - guaranteed to be delicious, even when I accidentally burned the onions a little. I use the light version posted by the original user in "The most helpful positive review". Tastes wonderful and less heavy than the original version. I can no longer eat butter chicken in restaurants because I like this one so much! I always use 1/4 cup of butter and half the salt to try to make this a little more healthy, but I like to call this a "sometimes food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is my favorite butter chicken, even more than butter chicken at an Indian restaurant! I make a few changes, like using 2 cans coconut milk and one cup heavy cream, reduce butter to 3/4 cup, curry powder instead of tandoori masala(I don't like tandoori) and I make it all in one pot and let the chicken cook in the sauce. I serve it with brown basmati rice. I also divide and freeze the sauce before I add the chicken as this is more than enough for our family out of one recipe. It makes a really fast supper when you can thaw the sauce and just add the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
MANGO CHICKEN! I love this recipe I have made a few tweeks along the way the main one being before you add the chicken split the sauce into two pots/pans one pan with slightly more than the other and add mango puree to the lesser full pan then add the chicken and simmer both then you have mango and butter chicken it's basically to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Bennion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Terrific Recipe. I couldn't find Tandoori Masala Spice so I made my own. Didn't add the mace or the menthi in the spice (didn't have) but it turned out great anyway. Only thing I did different was used a cup of whipping cream and two cups of canned coconut milk. Delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used Ghee and coconut milk as well as home made tomato sauce. everyone raved about it. Thanks for sharing this is the best butter chicken recipe I have ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaz McNamara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I've made this so many times and I just made the perfect version!! I used chicken thighs for more flavor, used 2 tbsp of Garam Masala and 1 tsp of curry powder instead of the tandoori. I rubbed the chicken pieces in olive oil and generously applied curry powder. I omitted the heavy cream and used fat free evaporated milk. I kept the 1 cup of butter because, hey it's butter chicken!!! I also simmered the chicken in the sauce for 30 minutes instead of 5 minutes. I served it over one of those 90 second Brown Basmati pouches for convenience. Next time I will buy two pouches because the chicken went fast!! My four year old ate more than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Me and my hubby Loved this. I made it just the way it's presented with the exception of substituting curry for the tandoori masala. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States