Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Excellent ,I followed all the directions and used half the amount of butter and half the amount if cream and used I cup of milk,1-tsp of salt,perfect,thank you for this super simple ...delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We have had this recipe "as is" so many times and absolutely love it! To cut down on fat I sometimes do half cream and half reg milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
excellent. I did not have tandori masala or garam masala, instead, I added cumin, pepper, coriander, clove, cinnamon, nutmeg and curry. I did the one pot method that others mentioned. carmalize onions, then add tomato and cream other ingredients. once this is simmering, add chicken and VERY slow simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious and easy to make! The hardest part was finding the garam masala and tandoori masali, which I had to order online. I used the artery-clogging original recipe and my husband gave it a big thumbs up. It wasn't that spicy at all (we like spicy food) but it had an excellent flavor. I served it with rice mixed with peas. I think the peas were to make me feel healthy! I followed suggestions in the reviews and cooked everything in a Dutch oven, to save on dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Pretty tasty and simple enough to make, but it was too much heavy cream for me and I could probably cut back on the butter some as well. The only complaint is that it dirtied a lot of pans/pots so perhaps I'll caramelize onions in the pot before simmering the sauce and maybe I'll cook the chicken in the sauce as well instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made the sauce as directed, with allllll of the cream and alllll of the butter, and it was absolutely divine! I followed the revision in the reviews and cooked the chicken in the sauce instead of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was phenomenal! I followed the recipe as written, the only small change I made was I sprinkled a tiny bit of curry into the onions when sautéing them and omitted the salt. I was nervous at first how much the sauce smelled a lot like tomato soup but after it simmered the spices took over! I served it with basmati & warm naan. I can hardly wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!! It was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
DELICIOUS! I tried this recipe and it turned out great on the very first attempt. I also make some slight calorie-conserving changes. I only used 1/4 cup of butter in my recipe, and I also only put 1 cup of cream and substituted skim milk for the other 2 cups. I also used garlic salt to taste, rather than use table salt. This is a delicious and easy recipe that I plan on sharing with many others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica DeJager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I used the "light" version (1/4 c. butter, 1 can evaporated milk, 1 can light coconut milk) and made minor alterations. Doubled the onion, added all spices to onion/garlic after 10 minutes and sauteed everything for 5 more. Then added all liquids and pureed everything together in a blender until smooth. Then put the sauce back on the stove to simmer. I started the chicken in another pan and when about half cooked, added it to the sauce to simmer on low until done. Served with Basmati rice. My family RAVED about dinner! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States