Easy Ice Cream Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I'm really conflicted how to rate these. They tasted amazing beyond and were gone in seconds. But the recipe...kinda flopped. The cookies flattened and merged together-I ended up with a cookie the size of my pan! I cut them all up and managed to salvage it somewhat but it didn't look too pretty. It may have been my fault though (ok, it probably was)-I greased my hands so I'd have an easier time rolling them out. I guess I'll give them a four-my family's kind of insisting; they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nert
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was so simple, all ingredients readily available, and fun. A fun way to have the kids help. Used the advice of other reviewers and rolled the dough onto a cookie sheet and cut into circles using the rim of a small glass. Perfect little sandwiches. Would definitely make again and would try using different cake mixes/ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Wow. All I can say is wow. If I had no self control, these could easily become part of my daily diet. The only thing I changed was to leave out the butterscotch chips...personal taste. They are easy to make as long as you move fast with the ice cream. And they turn out huge making them into 2" balls as the recipe states. Next time I will try making them a bit smaller. The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is because, once frozen, they were a little hard for my kids to bite into. I had to cut my 5 year old's into bite size pieces. Personally, I thought they were perfect! Thank you for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These are way better than store brought, that's for sure. It's a little hard to get the correct amount of ice cream in for the first try though, but I think I got it now. I'll certainly make these again, I'm surprised at how easy they are. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Heidi and Kevin give this 10 out of 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Easy & Delicious!! I personally use my favorite cookie mix instead of cake. Just press together before the cookies are completely cooled. YUM.. This is a great recipe. You can make these a hundred different ways. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was so good! I had about four of them when we took them out of the freezer! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! The only thing I would suggest is when the recipe says that you have to be quick when scooping the ice cream onto the cookies, you better do it FAST! Otherwise all the ice cream melts out of the cookies, and you end up redoing most of them! Other than that this recipe was a hit at dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Easy to make and delicious! I didn't add butterscotch chips, just milk chocolate -- still super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
1. Another time, I'd use just chocolate chips. The butterscotch chips were unattractive and did not add much to the flavor. 2. I made 1-1/2" balls and got only 10 sandwiches. This is consistent w/other reviews. 3. Each of these desserts is well over 500 calories, and they are pretty small. For the calories, I'm not sure they are good enough. But if you don't care about that, they are quite tasty. Just don't let your kids have more than one. 4. I usually bake on Silpat, but because I was making a double batch, I also used a greased cookie sheet. The greased cookie sheet worked much better. The cookies were hard to remove from the Silpat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
It's was amazing! I tried it with homemade ice cream it was amazing! try it with mint chip ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States