Easy Ice Cream Sammies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I spent a Friday night with this recipe and 3 kids and it was hit all around. We took pictures at each stage including spoon licking for a future scrapbook page. The kids had a blast making these and really enjoyed them the next evening after dinner on the porch - we let them freeze overnight which seemed to work very well. We used devil's food cake mix and neopolitian ice cream - they were a little messy but they were yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
these were a fun treat to make and eat. I liked that the cookie part was soft (even when frozen) so that the icecream didn't squish out. I copied Trisha's picture and rolled the edges in sprinkles....very cute! A tip that made the cookies more uniform and not too thick......I spooned out the batter onto the cookie sheet and flattened with the back of the spoon into a circle. Then with fingers dampened with water, I was able to smooth out the surface of the cookies (the dough is very sticky, thus the damp fingers!). Without this bit of smoothing out, the cookies were kind of lumpy and bumpy. I will make these again, the kids and grownups both enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These are perfect. I wanted something easy, and I found it. I also wanted a soft shell, so when you bit it, it wouldn't squish out so much. I just used vanilla ice cream, some with mini M&M's, mini chocolate cips, and some with sprinkles. Thanks so much, for a fun snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
You should omit the water not the eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Refreshing and so easy to make! Teens and adults loved them. You can make them all different sizes too which is nice for little hands or the great big ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly & they came out totally flat...they were like little flat cakes, there is no possible way I could put ice cream on them...not sure what the problem was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I didn't think this was anything special and would not make again. Fortunately, I cut the water by 1/2 cup or I would have had one huge cookie on the pan because they would have spread too much. I didn't care for the artificial cake mix taste either though I used DH. Very mushy after being in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I followed the recipie exactly but i made my spoonfuls too big and they came out HUGE so use small spoonfuls, but otherwise good! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have to rate this low because the cookies were unusable. This recipe might benefit from specifying the exact brand and type of cake mix the author used. My cookies were too thin to hold ice cream and they stuck to the cookie sheet, so I couldn't get them off even if they were thick enough. I'd like to try it again if anyone has a tested brand of cake mix to use. Unlike one of the reviewers, my batter was very thick, but just didn't turn out once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States