Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I loved this easy recipe, but next time I'm going to use just 1 or 2 cloves. Husband loves it though. Easy and Cheaper than store bought. Has potential, I was thinking of making a mediterranean version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UsuallyInTheWoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Good but I don't think I added enough jalepeno, only had 1 whole one. Used olive oil instead of juice from beans. Added extra cumin. Still needs something more, probably the jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Added a little salt and olive oil....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
WOW! This is a really good and easy hummus recipe! I was pleasantly surprised, considering I didn't have Tahini (a sesame seed paste). I didn't let that deter me from making this recipe, which I doubled also. From a couple reviews I read, I added several shakes of salt and pepper. Then I added a small amount of sesame oil (probably 1/4 tsp. for a double recipe). I actually made the hummus without the sesame oil and it was still pretty good, but when I read the review about adding the oil, I had to put the oil it and I am so glad I did!! I do have to say that the 1 Tbsp. of bean liquid per batch was not nearly enough liquid, so I did add a couple Tbsp. of olive oil and even added about 1/2 cup more of the bean liquid! I know that seems that my hummus would be runny, but it's not. Don't be shy to tweak!! I am going to go eat my hummus now, have fun! P.S. I am doing what's called a "Daniel Fast", which is all fruit, veggies, nuts, beans and whole grains (basically anything that grows from a seed)...anyway, an approved fasting food is hummus and I knew I could find a recipe that was within my requirements! http://daniel-fast.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I love this! It is the perfect base for whatever your taste preferences may be. I like to add a little extra cayenne pepper and top with fresh tomatoes. I can eat the entire thing with a glass of white wine and pretzel thins. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Making it in a blender was NOT easy. I made this recipe as is and it didn't turn out so great. I added a lot of oil and lemon juice because it seemed too dry. After a few days sitting in the fridge though, it started to taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
had to go on a vegan plus no oil diet. made this and served w/some fresh veggies and thought i had died and gone to heaven. i didn't have any jalapenos so i put a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, some salt and some pepper and about 1/3 cup of reserved bean liquid. totally delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This wasn't for me at all. I found it to be very boring .... and I love hummis. I'm going to try a recipe that has tahini in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I didn't have any jalapeno peppers so I added a can of drained rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Very good and so easy to make. The tomatoes gave it a nice texture so there was no need to add any "yucky-slimey" bean juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is great. I've made it several times now and even my six year will eat! Woo-Hoo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States