Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It was not as creamy as I am accustomed to when I eat hummus. I suspect that is because it doesn't have the tahini. I thought the garlic was a bit overpowering but I'm sure it will mellow in the refrigerator overnight so I wouldn't cut down on that just yet. It is a great base recipe to start with and it is just plain easy when you are pregnant and have these insane hummus cravings like me. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Quick, quick, quick and easy! I accidentally opened the wrong can of beans and within minutes I had another appetizer ready for dinner tonight. The jalapeno is a must. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
try adding Tahini for a more earthy, robust flavor. good Tahini will knock your socks off, so dont use too much, but just enogh to make it thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I thought this hummus was great! I used red pepper flakes because I didn't have the jalapeno peppers and also added hot sauce and worcesterchire and just a sprinkle of olive oil. This recipe is much healthier than traditional hummus! Update: I've made this many times since my original review. It's easy to make substitutions and this still turns out great! I now like to add a few pickled jalapenos since I never have fresh on hand and I like to add some of the juice from the jar and a few shakes of hot sauce as well. Yum! If I make this for company, I add a few tablespoons of olive oil for a creamier consistency. Everyone seems to like the taste of this dip better than store bought hummus & I love how much cheaper it is too! It's a win, win situation :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This was my first attempt at making hummus, and it was fantastic! I only used 2 cloves of garlic, which was plenty. Very easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Did not like this at all. Hummus just insn't hummus without tahini paste. I wish this would have tasted better, as it is much healthier that regular hummus. But, it was very bland and no one liked it at my cookout. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Great flavor but needs more heat for me. Easy, healthy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
The recipe lacks Tahini sauce. It's the key ingredient if you're trying to make an authentic middle eastern dip. You'll need 3 table spoons of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I love this hummus. For one it is so easy to make and the other is that it is low in fat (no oil, no tahini) Now, I am not a hummus expert, but when people tell you to bring this as a dish for events you must be doing something right. My tips: 1) Because I always take to parties or social gatherings, I triple the recipe. 2) I like spicy so when I do make a triple recipe, I use 2 jalapeno peppers and 1 habanero pepper – seeds and ribs removed (depending on the peppers this can get hot – YUM). This is an easy recipe to play around with to adjust to your tastes. 3) Reserve more liquid than listed as it will probably be needed to thin out. Add while processing to get the consistancy you desire. 4) This goes great with oven toasted pita bread (cut just for dipping) and carrots. Great healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I omitted the jalapenos and added 1/4 cup fresh cilantro and thinned with plain low fat yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States