Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Did not like this at all. Hummus just insn't hummus without tahini paste. I wish this would have tasted better, as it is much healthier that regular hummus. But, it was very bland and no one liked it at my cookout. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Great flavor but needs more heat for me. Easy, healthy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
The recipe lacks Tahini sauce. It's the key ingredient if you're trying to make an authentic middle eastern dip. You'll need 3 table spoons of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I love this hummus. For one it is so easy to make and the other is that it is low in fat (no oil, no tahini) Now, I am not a hummus expert, but when people tell you to bring this as a dish for events you must be doing something right. My tips: 1) Because I always take to parties or social gatherings, I triple the recipe. 2) I like spicy so when I do make a triple recipe, I use 2 jalapeno peppers and 1 habanero pepper – seeds and ribs removed (depending on the peppers this can get hot – YUM). This is an easy recipe to play around with to adjust to your tastes. 3) Reserve more liquid than listed as it will probably be needed to thin out. Add while processing to get the consistancy you desire. 4) This goes great with oven toasted pita bread (cut just for dipping) and carrots. Great healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I omitted the jalapenos and added 1/4 cup fresh cilantro and thinned with plain low fat yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I have to qualify this by saying that I am not a hummus expert -- I've only had hummus from the store a couple of times. This was my first time making my own and I picked this recipe because I couldn't find tahini. Made it pretty much as indicated, though I substituted red pepper flakes for the jalapenos (didn't have any) and added the tiniest bit of olive oil in hopes of getting the texture creamier. Anyway, it turned out OK, but not great, especially with veggies. Pretty good on tortilla chips, but tortilla chips don't need any help tasting good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I located this because I had no Tahini on hand and no time to run out...I am glad I did. I added an extra clove of garlic and 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice. I also streamed in a bit of olive oil for creaminess and it was fresh and delicious tasting! This is a great recipe to have on hand forlast minute snack ideas!!! p.s. It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMOMMYZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Great recipe! Wonderful to spread on sandwiches instead of butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
One caveat on my rating.. I did add to the recipe, but as another reviewer said, this made a great base to start with. I used all ingredients noted and added a splash of olive oil, 2 TBSP red onion, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 TBSP cilantro, and sea salt and pepper. Also, I needed to add about 5 TBSP total of the garbanzo juice to thin out the recipe. This was so delicious and perfect! I loved it and totally recommend, especially if you prefer your hummus wihtout the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHEE122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Super easy, and very good. I used canned jalepenos. I think fresh jalepenos would make it a bit spicier, but I liked the mild flavor the canned peppers created. I also added a little olive oil as recommended by others. Since finding the recipe last week, we have snacked through three batches. Thank you for a healthy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States