Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
If you like traditional hummus then you will fine this recipe merely o.k. I love true hummus and was so looking forward to making my own instead of spending $7 on an 8 ounce container from my favorite local Greek restaurant. I tried the recipe and thought it was bland with a very thin texture. I tried to add a little sesamee oil, more garlic a bit more cumin and some paprika and finally a couple of roasted red peppers. After all the additions the flavor was simply O.K, at best. I figure for the cost of the ingredients that I had to add to make this recipe just O.K. I would have only spent $2 more to get authentic, excellent hummus. Sorry, but I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good but not great. I made this recipe twice - exactly following the recipe directions, and again with some modifications. After the modifications I'd probably give it more of a 4 star rating, but without it just a 3. First of all, 2 ounces of the jalepeno (with seeds) was MUCH too hot - and I LOVE hot and spicy food: the hotter the Thai/Mexican/Chinese food the better it tastes to me. But the heat from the jalepeno completely overpowered the rest of the ingredients. It was better the second time when I removed 2/3 of the seeds. Also, I found that the addition of a bit of olive oil (1/2 tsp, perhaps?) added some much needed richness to the hummus which was lacking without the tahini. Finally, I added some salt and white pepper and increased the cumin and garlic. Much better. There's still something missing, but I don't know how it could get better without adding tahini at this point. I will make again, especially since I almost always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I love hummus. This is the first time I've ever made it before, and it didn't turn out nearly as well as I expected given the rating this recipe received. I thought it lacked flavor and texture as written. I ended up adding extra virgin olive oil, some pepper, and since I was in a rush and didn't have tahini on hand, Chipotle Tabasco for an easy way to add some kick and flavor. Reading other reviews, I think leaving out the tahini found in most other recipes was a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I have only tasted hummus a couple times and have certainly never made it, but was looking for a healthier dip for veggies. I didn't have jalepenos and used one tablespoon of the reserved liquid plus almost 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. It tastes great and was very easy. Will definitely be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I am not a hummus fan and this was delicious! I know it is a healthy dip and I am thrilled that I have found a recipe I like. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Honestly, I've never had hummus before so I'm not sure how it is supposed to taste but I had a bunch of garbanzo beans so decided to try this recipie. I really like it. I will only put in two cloves of garlic next time and I may try adding the pain yogert like an earlier reviewer did but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have never eaten hummus before, so I decided to try it. This is really good. I added a touch of sesame oil and a little more lemon juice and I am addicted to this. I did leave out the fresh garlic and put in a tiny bit of garlic powder since I am not a big garlic eater. I tried is on chips, crackers and veggies and it was good with all. This is going to be a staple in our house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Man, that was dumb-easy! I had a late-night hankering, but no lemon juice or jalapeño. I used some home made rosemary infused vinegar in lieu of the lemon juice and put a tad bit more garlic in. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I will be making this again. I omitted the garlic because I don't like it, but followed the rest of the recipe. It's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good base but wasn't creamy enough even after adding about 3 tbsp of the liquid. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will add liquid till it is the consistency I like. I might try adding some plain yogurt as another reviewer suggested, as I felt it was missing a slight dairy taste of some kind. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States