Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Healthy, yes. But not nearly as good as the unhealthy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very easy and love the extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious! First time hummus maker. Spicy and garlicky. Additional ingredients added / recipe modified: 1) 2 Tbs Olive Oil (would add more next time); 2) 5 Spearment Leaves (would add 8-10 next time); 3) Dash of Tamari; 4) 1/2 a jalapeno (reduce to 1/3 next time); 5) Ground Pepper; 6) Reduced garbanzo liquid to 1 Tbs; 7) Add more liquid next time (water, oil);
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wow! I used lime juice instead of lemon juice, increased the cumin to 1 tsp, and added about 3 tbls of water. EXCELLENT!!!! By far my favorite hummus, has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
AMAZING! I'm a spice-a-haulic, so I used a whole jalapeno, and more cumin. Super easy to make - super delicious! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I tweaked mine, first adding some olive oil, dried red pepper flakes, only 2 cloves of garlic, chili powder and the key ingredient...fresh cilantro. The cilantro really did the trick, overall it was a hit. Next time I will only use one clove of garlic and use some of the bean reserve to make it smoother. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeighAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Wonderful and easy. I won't be buying the store-bought again. I do add more cumin (about 2-3 tsp), a little salt, paprika, and red-chili pepper flakes (we like the spicy taste). I mash it all with a fork, and rather than use the reserved juice from the garbanzo bean can, I just add a bit of water. Tastes WONDERFUL! Good with raw veggies, in a wrap, pita bread or chapati bread (both from this website), or on crackers. Great recipe. Thanks ELOVINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I was trying to find a way to make the store-bought hummus I love into a lower-fat version, so I like that this recipe doesn't use olive oil. I left out the jalapeno. It definitely tasted like something was missing and a little bland, so I added salt to taste and a teaspoon of sesame seed oil. This hummus isn't as good as store bought or restaurant made, but I think it will be a decent cheaper, lower-fat replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Added rosemary and sun dried tomatoes and 1 Tablespoon of olive oil. I figure it still is better for you even with the added oil. This is a good base recipe for a healthier hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I also added some green onion & extra garlic- but the tahini (for me anyway) was surely missed. The best part is the ease of this recipe. It was good, not great- but definitely worth making if you're in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States