Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I so didn't follow the instructions, but this recipe was a great inspiration. I used a couple of pounds of beans I had cooked and needed to use, about 1/4 cup of tahini I needed to use up, some srirachi sause, a hand-full of home-dried tomatoes, a half a head of garlic, two hatch chilis, some left-over chopped onions & bell peppers (about a quarter cup), a couple tsp. cumin, some kosher salt, and a drizzle of olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My first try at making hummus. I gotta say turned out pretty good. I made one small change instead of jalepeno's I added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice. This is a great starting point if I feel a bit creative. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great recipe! Who knew it was so easy to make hummus at home! I didn't want to run out to the store so I used garlic powder and roasted red peppers and olives instead of fresh jalapeños, it came out great! Like other reviews, I didn't use the reserved bean liquid but olive oil instead- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've used this hummus recipe for a couple of years now. I've made it as written, which I find to be too garlicky for my personal taste. I've made the following modifications, based on other reviews and then added to, which I love: - Drain the bean juice but don't rinse the beans (since it calls for adding bean juice back anyway. - Add 1/4 tsp salt - Add about 1/4 cup of julienned sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil, let their olive oil come with them (instead of adding separate olive oil). - No garlic cloves, instead used about 1tsp garlic paste. - Add 1/4 tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp red pepper DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This tastes nothing like hummus, it just tastes like chickpea paste. I prefer a traditional recipe that includes tahini and olive oil (which has GOOD fats in it). I tried this because of all the rave reviews. Anyway, I was going to serve it at a party, but I won't call this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this, good but I added a little salt and a tablespoon of olive oil, better. A little bland before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is a 10 out of 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enchantress1469
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Omitted jalapeno. Added roasted garlic cloves and sundried tomato strips. Adjusted reserved juice to make it creamier. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enchantress1469

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I did as the reviewers suggested and added more reserved liquid. It was wonderful. Simple and easy to make. Definitely a keeper. I have made this three times already and love it. Question??? What else can I use hummus for. I have been using it with veggies but would like to use it more. What are your suggestions. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
REALLY easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States