Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. Best of all...it is soooooo quick! I added a little less garlic, 2 sundried tomatoes (originally packed in oil), and a little more salt. I also used pickled jalapenos because didn't have and fresh ones. The sundried tomatoes gave it a wonderful flavor and a really pretty reddish color. I served it with pita chips yesterday at my Superbowl party for those of us who want a healthier alternative to chips and dip. This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again and again. It's so much cheaper and better than store bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
The recipe is easily scalable to much larger amounts. One thing I noticed is that in larger amounts, it started to get a bit too thick for the food processor to handle. My solution was to add a bit of crushed ice and water. It came out creamy and really good. Incidentally, I used dried garbanzos soaked overnight and boiled 3-4 hours instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This hummous was excellent, and received rave reviews from my guests. I didn't miss the tahini, and loved the addition of fresh jalepeno, it was just spicy enough. Next time I will double the amount of the garbanzo bean liquid to 2 Tbsp. for a more smooth texture. But there will certainly be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
It was very easy and tasty. I ate the whole thing myself!!!! Too garlicky for the kids though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This hummus is better than store-bought and not very hard to prepare. I will use only 1 jalepeno next time, it was a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
Now I did add 1/3 cup of tahini paste and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I also put a little more cumin in, but I'm not sure how much. I was in a hurry, guests were arriving. So I added all the ingrediants plus my own and blended in the blender. Froze it for 10 minutes to chill and served. Everybody loved it, but now I'll have to try to follow the directions more closely or try to duplicate what I did again. Thanks for the guidance on what to do though. I love hummus at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Wonderful. I think I added too much garlic, but I love it. Tasty, and low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This recipe amazed me. I didn't think it would be good without tahini but, it was great! The fact that it is healthier than most other hummus recipes was a bonus. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Great recipe, I highly recommend it; super easy to make. Didn't have jalapeno or cumin, so I left out the peppers & added curry powder instead. I played around with the amounts of bean juice & lemon juice (added a bit more to make it smoother) and added a teaspoon of olive oil. Be warned, 3 cloves of garlic makes a SUPER-GARLICKY hummous. Vary as needed! I'm never buying hummous again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
awesome! Low fat snack.. great on bagels!!! Thanks Erin! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States