Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
So I had this can of garbanzo beans sitting on my shelf and decided to make some hummus. However, it had to be something simple because I didn't have much else. I found this recipe and gave it a try. In all honesty I did stray from Erin's true recipe, but its close enough to say it was a GREAT basis to start with. I added some extra virgin olive oil (rather than the bean liquid) and salt. Instead of garlic cloves I subsituted 3 tsp of granulated garlic. Instead of the jalapeno, I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. After blending it all, I tasted it, and added a few shakes of spice as necessary. Also, its a good idea to cover this with plastic wrap and then allow it to sit in the fridge for at least an hour so that all the flavors can mellow and mix together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This hummous was excellent, and received rave reviews from my guests. I didn't miss the tahini, and loved the addition of fresh jalepeno, it was just spicy enough. Next time I will double the amount of the garbanzo bean liquid to 2 Tbsp. for a more smooth texture. But there will certainly be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This hummus was super easy and so good! I'm a "hummus snob" too. I was skeptical about leaving out the tahini. I added a bit more garlic, a tsp of black pepper, a dash of tamari, and a chopped up green onion to give it some of the flavors of my fave Moosewood recipe. Great! I'm getting ready to make my second batch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
The recipe is easily scalable to much larger amounts. One thing I noticed is that in larger amounts, it started to get a bit too thick for the food processor to handle. My solution was to add a bit of crushed ice and water. It came out creamy and really good. Incidentally, I used dried garbanzos soaked overnight and boiled 3-4 hours instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. Best of all...it is soooooo quick! I added a little less garlic, 2 sundried tomatoes (originally packed in oil), and a little more salt. I also used pickled jalapenos because didn't have and fresh ones. The sundried tomatoes gave it a wonderful flavor and a really pretty reddish color. I served it with pita chips yesterday at my Superbowl party for those of us who want a healthier alternative to chips and dip. This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again and again. It's so much cheaper and better than store bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Very tasty. It was my first time making hummus and I needed a healthy version because our guest has high blood pressure and tahini jacked up the sodium and fat. We weren't eating greek so authenticity wasn't an issue. I also added cilantro, cayenne pepper and paprika. I served it with warmed pitas and red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This did not taste like the hummus I have had in restaurants. The jalepeno's are strange, not adding to the normal greek flavor. We ended up throwing it out. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I, like the other reviewers, will never buy store-bought hummus again! It is just too easy and tasty to do it at home. (And MUCH less expensive.) The amount of garlic was a bit strong. I like garlic and it was even too strong for me. I adjusted for that the second time I made it. I also added a splash of olive oil and more of the bean liquid to smooth out the hummus. It would have been a bit too think without it. A great base hummus recipe that can be jazzed up a million ways. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This is so good and healthy! I added parsley and paprika, and didn't add the peppers. I will definitely use this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This is a tasty recipe that even my picky 12 year old likes and asks for! For a different twist, I have added a couple of drops of sesame oil. Give it a try! It doesn't last long at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States