Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Making it in a blender was NOT easy. I made this recipe as is and it didn't turn out so great. I added a lot of oil and lemon juice because it seemed too dry. After a few days sitting in the fridge though, it started to taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
had to go on a vegan plus no oil diet. made this and served w/some fresh veggies and thought i had died and gone to heaven. i didn't have any jalapenos so i put a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, some salt and some pepper and about 1/3 cup of reserved bean liquid. totally delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This wasn't for me at all. I found it to be very boring .... and I love hummis. I'm going to try a recipe that has tahini in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I didn't have any jalapeno peppers so I added a can of drained rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Very good and so easy to make. The tomatoes gave it a nice texture so there was no need to add any "yucky-slimey" bean juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is great. I've made it several times now and even my six year will eat! Woo-Hoo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this awhile back without the jalapenos, added a jar of artichoke hearts, adjusted the seasonings, and we all LOVED it! Last night I decided to make it again and I followed the recipe exactly. It was WAY too spicy, and I like spice. I added a second can of garbanzo beans, more liquid, some olive oil, a few drops of sesame oil, then another 1/2 tsp of cumin, and it was finally right! So - its great as a base if you add your own stuff, but not "as-is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
WOW! I have never made hummus before but am on a new eating program. This is one of the few hummus recipes that doesn't call for tahini (whatever that is). I like things spicy and happened to have one lonely jalapeno, so I made this! I used my Ninja and the hummus came out perfectly! This had such a good, spicy flavor! Not too spicy, but just enough. The cumin adds a nice flavor without being too overpowering. I added cracked pepper and a pinch of salt. I will be using this again! Who knew hummus was so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was really good. I used my magic bullet grinder and it was practically instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband uses this as a base recipe for hummus weekly. I prefer it as-written, but he perfers it to pack a bigger punch and usually adds extra garlic and/or jalapeno. I love that this hummus does not call for tahini which, while necessary for an authentic hummus, is not something I have in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
The recipe as stated was a tad too tangy and really heavy on the lemon in my opinion so I added a bit more garlic, some cayenne pepper and garlic infused olive oil. I would say this is a great base, but as is, wasn't my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States