Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very simple recipe and much cheaper to make than to buy. I think it should be left in frig overnight to enhance flavors. We added more garlic. Experiment with different spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This came out really good. I did use olive oil rather than the drained liquid from the beans. Certainly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
The recipe followed as directed was not good however it did provide a good base to build off of. I have made this several times now and I think I've perfected it by adding olive oil, more cumin, chili powder, and a dash of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I so didn't follow the instructions, but this recipe was a great inspiration. I used a couple of pounds of beans I had cooked and needed to use, about 1/4 cup of tahini I needed to use up, some srirachi sause, a hand-full of home-dried tomatoes, a half a head of garlic, two hatch chilis, some left-over chopped onions & bell peppers (about a quarter cup), a couple tsp. cumin, some kosher salt, and a drizzle of olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My first try at making hummus. I gotta say turned out pretty good. I made one small change instead of jalepeno's I added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice. This is a great starting point if I feel a bit creative. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great recipe! Who knew it was so easy to make hummus at home! I didn't want to run out to the store so I used garlic powder and roasted red peppers and olives instead of fresh jalapeños, it came out great! Like other reviews, I didn't use the reserved bean liquid but olive oil instead- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've used this hummus recipe for a couple of years now. I've made it as written, which I find to be too garlicky for my personal taste. I've made the following modifications, based on other reviews and then added to, which I love: - Drain the bean juice but don't rinse the beans (since it calls for adding bean juice back anyway. - Add 1/4 tsp salt - Add about 1/4 cup of julienned sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil, let their olive oil come with them (instead of adding separate olive oil). - No garlic cloves, instead used about 1tsp garlic paste. - Add 1/4 tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp red pepper DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This tastes nothing like hummus, it just tastes like chickpea paste. I prefer a traditional recipe that includes tahini and olive oil (which has GOOD fats in it). I tried this because of all the rave reviews. Anyway, I was going to serve it at a party, but I won't call this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this, good but I added a little salt and a tablespoon of olive oil, better. A little bland before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is a 10 out of 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States