Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I have made this many times. I was surprised how easy and tasty it is. Far better than any store bought brand. I do leave out the peppers because my kids won't eat anything spicy. They both love it. I have served with flatbread, pita chips, carrots and even tortillas. Great snack as well as along with a meal or sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I'm giving this 3 stars because I thought it was just OK. I didn't like the consistency of it. I made it in my food processor with the basic blade and it seemed kind of mealy to me. I also didn't love the flavor of it, but maybe that's just because I'm so used to the taste of tahini. I found the recipe as is to be somewhat bland. I then added 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/2 tsp. of sun-dried tomato pesto and that improved the taste quite considerably. I would probably try it again if I was in a pinch for some quick hummus and had garbanzo beans on hand. I do like that it's lower in calories and fat than regular hummus as it is without oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca from LA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Liked the heat of the jalapeno...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren C Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love hummus! It's so special, not only good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W l'Italia Stefania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very simple recipe and much cheaper to make than to buy. I think it should be left in frig overnight to enhance flavors. We added more garlic. Experiment with different spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This came out really good. I did use olive oil rather than the drained liquid from the beans. Certainly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
The recipe followed as directed was not good however it did provide a good base to build off of. I have made this several times now and I think I've perfected it by adding olive oil, more cumin, chili powder, and a dash of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I so didn't follow the instructions, but this recipe was a great inspiration. I used a couple of pounds of beans I had cooked and needed to use, about 1/4 cup of tahini I needed to use up, some srirachi sause, a hand-full of home-dried tomatoes, a half a head of garlic, two hatch chilis, some left-over chopped onions & bell peppers (about a quarter cup), a couple tsp. cumin, some kosher salt, and a drizzle of olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My first try at making hummus. I gotta say turned out pretty good. I made one small change instead of jalepeno's I added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice. This is a great starting point if I feel a bit creative. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great recipe! Who knew it was so easy to make hummus at home! I didn't want to run out to the store so I used garlic powder and roasted red peppers and olives instead of fresh jalapeños, it came out great! Like other reviews, I didn't use the reserved bean liquid but olive oil instead- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States